East Texas A&M University: merit scholarships by GPA and class rank
East Texas A&M University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing GPA with class rank. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $2,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
East Texas A&M hedges every threshold on this grid — "around 3.8 GPA and rank near top 20%" — so the boundaries are approximate by the university's own wording rather than by omission. Each tier also requires the rank and the GPA together, and a lookup cannot check class rank, so the figures here assume it is met. The page never says the awards are automatic. Rank and GPA are read as they stand on or before February 1, so later grades do not count. The university was formerly Texas A&M University-Commerce.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Blue and Gold Freshman Scholarship Tier 2
$1,500 a year, $6,000 over four / year
About $6,000 over four years, if it renews.
East Texas A&M awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published East Texas A&M merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from East Texas A&M University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Blue and Gold freshman scholarships
GPA and class rank together, read as they stand on February 1. Up to eight long semesters, and they stack with donor scholarships.
$2,000 a year, $8,000 over four
Blue and Gold Freshman Scholarship Tier 1
No score needed · GPA 3.80
$1,500 a year, $6,000 over four
Blue and Gold Freshman Scholarship Tier 2
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$1,000 a year, $4,000 over four
Blue and Gold Freshman Scholarship Tier 3
No score needed · GPA 3.00
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blue and Gold Freshman Scholarship Tier 1 | — | GPA 3.80 | $2,000 a year, $8,000 over four |
| Blue and Gold Freshman Scholarship Tier 2 | — | GPA 3.50 | $1,500 a year, $6,000 over four |
| Blue and Gold Freshman Scholarship Tier 3 | — | GPA 3.00 | $1,000 a year, $4,000 over four |
Source: Undergraduate scholarships · verified 2026-10-25
Does East Texas A&M superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and the grid reads no score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask East Texas A&M’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
East Texas A&M scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Rank and GPA read as they stand | On or before February 1 |
| Transcripts postmarked by (priority) | February 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from East Texas A&M University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Every threshold on this grid is hedged — "around" a GPA and "near" a rank.
- So a student cannot tell from the page whether a 3.74 clears the top tier, and the page does not promise it does.
- No tier reads an ACT score at all.
- Each tier needs the rank and the GPA together, not either one.
- Class rank cannot be checked by a lookup, so the figures here assume it is met.
- Rank and GPA are read as they stand on February 1, so a strong spring semester arrives too late.
- Renewal asks for 15 credit hours a semester, above a standard full-time load.
- The awards stack with donor scholarships.
- Students must enrol in the calendar year of their high school graduation.
- The university was formerly Texas A&M University-Commerce.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with East Texas A&M University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at East Texas A&M?
East Texas A&M University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is East Texas A&M test-optional?
Third-party sources describe East Texas A&M as considering but not requiring scores; its own scholarship page states no admission policy. For merit aid the answer is different: no tier names a test. The grid is GPA and class rank only, so the ACT does nothing for this award. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at East Texas A&M?
On East Texas A&M's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Blue and Gold Freshman Scholarship Tier 2 at $1,500 a year, about $6,000 over four years if it renews.
Does East Texas A&M superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and the grid reads no score.
When are East Texas A&M scholarship deadlines?
Rank and GPA read as they stand: On or before February 1. Transcripts postmarked by (priority): February 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this East Texas A&M scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from East Texas A&M University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
East Texas A&M awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though East Texas A&M is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with East Texas A&M University