Merit aid by ACT score
Most automatic merit aid is awarded off a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA, where each band pays a fixed amount per year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one ACT point is worth nothing inside a band and the entire step at the edge of one. Enter a score below to see both.
Search by name, city or state. Not here yet? Ask and we’ll add it.
At a 29 with a 3.60, this score reaches a published award at 476 of 501 schools listed — worth up to $160,000 over four years at the best of them.
Which one point is worth the most? Run these two numbers against every grid and we will name the single threshold that pays you most to reach.
Show me my biggest awardGreen Bay, WI
100% remission
Phoenix Scholar Award — Gold
Top band at this GPA
Fayetteville, ARGPA only
80% of the out-of-state tuition difference
New Arkansan NRTA
ACT not used here
Troy, AL
Tuition at the in-state rate
The Chancellor's Scholarship
Top band at this GPA
Lafayette, LA
Semester awards of $2,000 academic and $1,000 housing for eight semesters, $24,000 total
Magnolia Scholarship
Top band at this GPA
Baton Rouge, LA
Award amounts range from $500 annually to $4,600 annually plus applicable TOPS award amount
Merit Scholarship
Top band at this GPA
Brookings, SD
Minimum award of $3,000 (SDSU does not state the period)
Jackrabbit Guarantee Scholarship
Top band at this GPA
Bowling Green, OH
Covers half of BGSU's non-resident fee
BG Success Scholarship (score route)
Top band at this GPA
Moscow, IDGPA only
WUE Scholars Merit Award + $1,000, nearly $17,000
WUE Scholars Merit Award
ACT not used here
Normal, AL
Covers the cost of tuition
AAMU Merit Scholarship
Top band at this GPA
Valparaiso, INGPA only
Presidential Scholarship, published as $31,000 to $33,000
Presidential Scholarship
ACT not used here
Silver City, NM
Full in-state tuition and applicable fees, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $1,500 a year toward housing
Silver Package
Top band at this GPA
Evansville, INGPA only
Award pays the difference between resident and non-resident tuition
Out-of-State Merit Scholarship
ACT not used here
Dover, DE
Covers the gap between tuition and any Federal Title IV or state grant funding
Full Tuition Scholarship
Top band at this GPA
Lawrenceville, GAGPA only
In-state tuition rate
Presidential Academic Out-of-State Award
ACT not used here
South Orange, NJ
$4,000 - $25,000
University Scholarship
Top band at this GPA
St. Bonaventure, NY
awarded on the basis of your three year cumulative high school average (freshman through junior year), rigor of courses and SAT or ACT scores
Presidential, Friars, Provost, Achievement or Incentive award
Top band at this GPA
Lewiston, NY
determined by a thorough evaluation of the student's high school transcript and/or submitted standardized test scores
Trustees', Presidential, Deans', Achievement award or NU Grant
Top band at this GPA
Baltimore, MD
based on a student's GPA, course selection, and test scores (if submitted)
Presidential, Dean's or Loyola Scholarship
Top band at this GPA
Macon, GA
$18,000 to $27,000 per year
First-year merit scholarship
Top band at this GPA
Des Moines, IA
$26,000–$36,500 per year
Presidential Scholarship
Top band at this GPA
| Award | Next step up | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UW-Green BayGreen Bay, WI | Phoenix Scholar Award — Gold | 100% remission | — | Top band at this GPA |
| ArkansasFayetteville, ARGPA only | New Arkansan NRTA | 80% of the out-of-state tuition difference | — | ACT not used here |
| TroyTroy, AL | The Chancellor's Scholarship | Tuition at the in-state rate | — | Top band at this GPA |
| UL LafayetteLafayette, LA | Magnolia Scholarship | Semester awards of $2,000 academic and $1,000 housing for eight semesters, $24,000 total | — | Top band at this GPA |
| LSUBaton Rouge, LA | Merit Scholarship | Award amounts range from $500 annually to $4,600 annually plus applicable TOPS award amount | — | Top band at this GPA |
| SDSUBrookings, SD | Jackrabbit Guarantee Scholarship | Minimum award of $3,000 (SDSU does not state the period) | — | Top band at this GPA |
| BGSUBowling Green, OH | BG Success Scholarship (score route) | Covers half of BGSU's non-resident fee | — | Top band at this GPA |
| IdahoMoscow, IDGPA only | WUE Scholars Merit Award | WUE Scholars Merit Award + $1,000, nearly $17,000 | — | ACT not used here |
| Alabama A&MNormal, AL | AAMU Merit Scholarship | Covers the cost of tuition | — | Top band at this GPA |
| ValparaisoValparaiso, INGPA only | Presidential Scholarship | Presidential Scholarship, published as $31,000 to $33,000 | — | ACT not used here |
| WNMUSilver City, NM | Silver Package | Full in-state tuition and applicable fees, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $1,500 a year toward housing | — | Top band at this GPA |
| USIEvansville, INGPA only | Out-of-State Merit Scholarship | Award pays the difference between resident and non-resident tuition | — | ACT not used here |
| Delaware StateDover, DE | Full Tuition Scholarship | Covers the gap between tuition and any Federal Title IV or state grant funding | — | Top band at this GPA |
| GGCLawrenceville, GAGPA only | Presidential Academic Out-of-State Award | In-state tuition rate | — | ACT not used here |
| Seton HallSouth Orange, NJ | University Scholarship | $4,000 - $25,000 | — | Top band at this GPA |
| St. BonaventureSt. Bonaventure, NY | Presidential, Friars, Provost, Achievement or Incentive award | awarded on the basis of your three year cumulative high school average (freshman through junior year), rigor of courses and SAT or ACT scores | — | Top band at this GPA |
| NiagaraLewiston, NY | Trustees', Presidential, Deans', Achievement award or NU Grant | determined by a thorough evaluation of the student's high school transcript and/or submitted standardized test scores | — | Top band at this GPA |
| Loyola MarylandBaltimore, MD | Presidential, Dean's or Loyola Scholarship | based on a student's GPA, course selection, and test scores (if submitted) | — | Top band at this GPA |
| MercerMacon, GA | First-year merit scholarship | $18,000 to $27,000 per year | — | Top band at this GPA |
| DrakeDes Moines, IA | Presidential Scholarship | $26,000–$36,500 per year | — | Top band at this GPA |
Sorted by what this score and GPA are worth over four years.
Figures come from each school’s own published grid, read from the source and dated on that school’s page. Last confirmed between 2026-10-19 and 2026-10-25. Four-year figures assume the award renews.
Every number above moves with one thing: the score. Finding out which questions are costing the points takes about three minutes.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed
Schools in this dataset
Each school has its own page with the full grid, deadlines, superscore policy, and the sources every figure came from.
AK4 schools
Alabama19 schools
- AlabamaTuscaloosa · score needed for the money$28,000
- Alabama A&MNormalTuition
- Alabama StateMontgomery · competitive · score needed for the money$4,000
- AuburnAuburn · competitive$17,000
- AUMMontgomery$10,000
- FaulknerMontgomery$14,000
- HuntingdonMontgomery · prior cycle$16,500
- Jax StateJacksonville$10,500
- MontevalloMontevallo$9,000
- SamfordBirmingham · competitiveSee page
- South AlabamaMobile · prior cycle$8,000
- Spring HillMobile · GPA only$14,000
- StillmanTuscaloosa · GPA only$10,000
- TroyTroyTuition
- UABBirmingham$28,500
- UAHHuntsville$22,000
- UMobileMobile · GPA only$16,000
- UNAFlorence$12,000
- UWALivingston$12,000
Arizona4 schools
Arkansas15 schools
- ArkansasFayetteville · GPA only · prior cycle · score needed for the moneyTuition
- Arkansas StateJonesboro · competitive$18,000
- Arkansas TechRussellville · competitive · score needed for the money$12,000
- Central ArkansasConway · GPA only · competitive$6,500
- Central BaptistConway$11,000
- Henderson StateArkadelphia · GPA only$6,000
- John BrownSiloam Springs$14,000
- OuachitaArkadelphia$23,000
- OzarksClarksville · GPA only$14,000
- Southern ArkansasMagnolia$12,000
- UA Little RockLittle Rock · score needed for the money$5,000
- UA MonticelloMonticello$12,000
- UAFSFort Smith$6,000
- UAPBPine Bluff · prior cycle$16,500
- Williams BaptistWalnut Ridge$12,000
CA7 schools
Colorado7 schools
CT4 schools
FL9 schools
- FGCUFort Myers$15,000
- Florida AtlanticBoca Raton · competitive$10,000
- Florida PolyLakeland$23,300
- JacksonvilleJacksonville · GPA only$30,000
- PBAWest Palm Beach$2,500
- RollinsWinter Park · competitive$33,000
- UNFJacksonville$14,000
- WebberBabson Park · score needed for the money$20,000
- West FloridaPensacola$8,000
Georgia8 schools
HI4 schools
Idaho6 schools
IL18 schools
- Concordia ChicagoRiver Forest · GPA only$25,000
- DePaulChicago · competitiveSee page
- Eastern IllinoisCharleston · GPA only$4,000
- ElmhurstElmhurst · GPA only$28,000
- Governors StateUniversity Park · GPA only · competitive · prior cycle$5,000
- GreenvilleGreenville · GPA only$20,000
- Illinois StateNormal · GPA onlySee page
- McKendreeLebanon · GPA only$17,000
- MonmouthMonmouth · GPA only$33,000
- NEIUChicago · GPA only$2,000
- North CentralNaperville · GPA only$30,000
- North ParkChicago · GPA only$23,000
- Northern IllinoisDeKalb · GPA only$8,000
- QuincyQuincy$27,000
- SIUCarbondale · GPA only$5,500
- SIU EdwardsvilleEdwardsville · GPA only$4,000
- UISSpringfield · GPA only · prior cycle$7,000
- Western IllinoisMacomb · GPA only$6,000
Indiana21 schools
- Anderson (IN)Anderson · GPA only$22,000
- Bethel (IN)Mishawaka · GPA only$18,000
- EvansvilleEvansville$32,000
- GraceWinona Lake · GPA only$15,000
- HanoverHanover · GPA only$36,000
- HuntingtonHuntington · GPA only$15,000
- Indiana StateTerre Haute$3,000
- Indiana TechFort Wayne · GPA only$18,000
- IU EastRichmond$5,000
- IU KokomoKokomo · score needed for the money$2,500
- IU NorthwestGary$3,000
- IU South BendSouth Bend · GPA only$2,000
- IU SoutheastNew Albany · GPA only$1,000
- IWUMarion · GPA only · prior cycle$17,000
- Purdue Fort WayneFort Wayne · GPA only$3,000
- SMWCSaint Mary-of-the-Woods · GPA only$12,500
- TaylorUpland$21,000
- TrineAngola · GPA only$19,000
- UIndyIndianapolis · GPA only$20,000
- USIEvansville · GPA only$9,000
- ValparaisoValparaiso · GPA only$35,000
Iowa15 schools
- Briar CliffSioux City · GPA only$16,500
- Buena VistaStorm Lake · GPA only$29,000
- CentralPella · GPA only$9,000
- ClarkeDubuque · GPA only$25,200
- DrakeDes MoinesSee page
- Iowa StateAmes$3,000
- LorasDubuque · GPA only$28,000
- LutherDecorah · GPA only$39,000
- MorningsideSioux City · GPA only$20,000
- Mount MercyCedar Rapids · GPA only$26,000
- Northwestern (IA)Orange City$1,500
- SimpsonIndianola · GPA only$42,000
- St. AmbroseDavenport · GPA only$25,000
- UDDubuque · GPA only$15,000
- William PennOskaloosa · competitiveSee page
Kansas14 schools
- BakerBaldwin City · GPA only$16,000
- Bethany (KS)Lindsborg · GPA only$20,000
- Bethel (KS)North Newton · GPA only$14,000
- Emporia StateEmporia$3,000
- FriendsWichita · GPA only · prior cycle$15,000
- Kansas (KU)Lawrence · GPA only$16,000
- Kansas StateManhattan$5,000
- Kansas WesleyanSalina · competitive$21,000
- NewmanWichita · GPA only · prior cycle$25,000
- Pitt StatePittsburg$4,000
- Southwestern (KS)Winfield · prior cycle$13,000
- Sterling (KS)Sterling$21,250
- WashburnTopeka · GPA only$5,000
- Wichita StateWichita$6,000
Kentucky16 schools
- AsburyWilmore · GPA only$15,000
- CampbellsvilleCampbellsville · GPA only$15,500
- EKURichmond$9,000
- KCUGrayson$4,500
- KentuckyLexington$16,000
- Kentucky StateFrankfort · competitive · prior cycle$3,850
- Kentucky WesleyanOwensboro · GPA only$20,000
- LouisvilleLouisville$8,000
- Morehead StateMorehead · score needed for the money$11,000
- Murray StateMurray$10,000
- NKUHighland Heights · GPA only$3,000
- PikevillePikeville · GPA only$8,000
- SpaldingLouisville$16,000
- Thomas MoreCrestview Hills$23,000
- TransylvaniaLexington$34,000
- WKUBowling Green$7,500
Louisiana13 schools
- CentenaryShreveport$30,000
- Grambling StateGrambling · prior cycle$7,683
- Louisiana TechRuston · score needed for the money$9,500
- LSUBaton Rouge · competitive · score needed for the moneySee page
- LSU New OrleansNew Orleans$5,000
- LSU ShreveportShreveport$3,600
- LSUAAlexandria$3,000
- McNeeseLake Charles$9,000
- NichollsThibodaux · competitive · score needed for the moneySee page
- SoutheasternHammond$4,000
- SouthernBaton RougeSee page
- UL LafayetteLafayetteSee page
- ULMMonroe · prior cycle$12,100
MA8 schools
- Bridgewater StateBridgewater · GPA only$5,000
- Fitchburg StateFitchburg · GPA only$5,000
- Framingham StateFramingham · GPA only$3,000
- NicholsDudley · GPA only$27,000
- SpringfieldSpringfield · GPA only$30,000
- UMassDDartmouth · competitiveSee page
- Westfield StateWestfield · GPA only$5,000
- Worcester StateWorcester · GPA only$4,000
MD4 schools
ME5 schools
Michigan21 schools
- AlbionAlbion · GPA only$20,000
- AlmaAlma · GPA only$38,000
- CalvinGrand Rapids$20,000
- CMUMount Pleasant$8,250
- CornerstoneGrand Rapids · GPA only$10,000
- DavenportGrand Rapids · GPA only$10,000
- Eastern MichiganYpsilanti$8,000
- Ferris StateBig Rapids$10,000
- Grand Valley StateAllendale$11,000
- HopeHolland · prior cycle$22,000
- LSSUSault Ste. Marie$5,000
- MadonnaLivonia$14,000
- Michigan TechHoughton · GPA only$19,000
- NMUMarquette · GPA only$9,600
- NorthwoodMidland · GPA only$17,000
- OaklandRochester$12,000
- OlivetOlivet · GPA only · competitive · prior cycle$20,000
- Saginaw Valley StateUniversity Center · GPA only$6,500
- Spring ArborSpring Arbor · GPA only$17,500
- UM-DearbornDearborn · GPA only · prior cycle$12,500
- WMUKalamazooSee page
Mississippi11 schools
- AlcornLorman$18,000
- BelhavenJackson$17,500
- Blue MountainBlue Mountain$10,000
- Delta StateCleveland$8,435
- Jackson StateJackson · competitive$1,000
- Mississippi StateStarkville · score needed for the money$10,500
- MVSUItta Bena · competitiveTuition
- Ole MissOxford$20,790
- Southern MissHattiesburg$10,000
- TougalooTougaloo · competitiveHalf tuition
- William CareyHattiesburg$10,100
Missouri20 schools
- Central MethodistFayette$16,000
- Columbia College (MO)Columbia · GPA only$13,000
- Culver-StocktonCanton · GPA only$20,000
- DrurySpringfield$25,000
- EvangelSpringfield · GPA only$13,000
- LindenwoodSt. Charles · GPA only$12,000
- Maryville UniversitySt. Louis$14,000
- Missouri WesternSt. Joseph$4,750
- MizzouColumbiaTuition
- Northwest Missouri StateMaryville$6,000
- ParkParkville · GPA only$6,000
- RockhurstKansas City · GPA only$28,000
- SEMOCape Girardeau$8,000
- Southwest BaptistBolivar · GPA only · prior cycle$16,500
- StephensColumbia · GPA only$27,000
- UCMWarrensburg · GPA only$4,000
- UMKCKansas City$7,500
- WebsterWebster Groves · GPA only$22,000
- Westminster (MO)Fulton · prior cycle$27,000
- William JewellLiberty$2,000
MN9 schools
- Bethel (MN)St. Paul · GPA only$7,000
- Concordia MoorheadMoorhead$19,500
- Concordia St. PaulSt. Paul · GPA only$7,000
- Minnesota State MankatoMankato · GPA only · prior cycle$1,250
- SMSUMarshall · GPA only$3,500
- St. ScholasticaDuluth · GPA only$30,000
- UMN CrookstonCrookston · GPA only · competitive$3,000
- UMN MorrisMorris · GPA only$5,000
- Winona StateWinona · GPA only$3,500
Montana5 schools
NC7 schools
Nebraska10 schools
- Chadron StateChadron · GPA only$8,000
- Concordia NebraskaSeward$24,000
- DoaneCrete · GPA only$21,000
- HastingsHastings · GPA only$19,000
- NebraskaLincoln · score needed for the moneySee page
- Nebraska WesleyanLincoln · GPA only$28,000
- Peru StatePeru · GPA only · competitive$6,000
- UNKKearney · score needed for the money$6,000
- UNOOmaha · competitive · score needed for the money$3,500
- YorkYork$6,500
Nevada3 schools
New Mexico5 schools
NJ6 schools
North Dakota7 schools
NY17 schools
- AdelphiGarden City · competitiveSee page
- AlfredAlfred · GPA only · competitive$28,000
- Alfred StateAlfred · GPA only$5,000
- Buffalo StateBuffalo · GPA only · competitive$4,000
- CanisiusBuffalo · GPA only$24,200
- Le MoyneSyracuse · GPA only · competitive$26,000
- NazarethRochester · GPA only$25,000
- NiagaraLewiston · competitiveSee page
- PlattsburghPlattsburgh · GPA only · competitive · prior cycle$3,500
- St. BonaventureSt. Bonaventure · competitiveSee page
- SUNY BrockportBrockport · GPA only$5,000
- SUNY CortlandCortland · GPA only$5,000
- SUNY DelhiDelhi · GPA onlySee page
- SUNY FredoniaFredonia · GPA only$5,000
- SUNY GeneseoGeneseo · GPA only · competitiveSee page
- SUNY New PaltzNew Paltz · GPA only$6,000
- SUNY OswegoOswego · GPA only$6,000
Ohio23 schools
- AshlandAshland · GPA only$18,000
- BGSUBowling GreenSee page
- CapitalColumbus · GPA only$30,000
- Central StateWilberforce · GPA only$4,000
- FindlayFindlay$25,000
- Lake EriePainesville · GPA only$23,000
- LourdesSylvania · GPA only$16,000
- MaloneCanton · GPA only$18,000
- MariettaMarietta · GPA only$26,000
- Miami (Ohio)Oxford · GPA only$22,000
- Mount St. JosephCincinnati · GPA only$26,000
- Mount UnionAlliance · GPA only$24,000
- MVNUMount Vernon · GPA only$21,000
- Ohio UniversityAthens · GPA only$2,000
- OtterbeinWesterville · GPA only$24,000
- Shawnee StatePortsmouth$5,000
- TiffinTiffin · GPA only$20,000
- UToledoToledo · GPA only$8,000
- WilmingtonWilmington$25,000
- WittenbergSpringfield$32,000
- Wright StateDayton · GPA only$10,500
- XavierCincinnati · competitive · prior cycleSee page
- Youngstown StateYoungstown$4,000
Oklahoma11 schools
- CameronLawtonTuition
- East CentralAda · score needed for the moneyTuition
- Northeastern StateTahlequah · prior cycle · score needed for the money$2,200
- OklahomaNorman$17,500
- Oklahoma BaptistShawnee · competitive$20,000
- Oklahoma ChristianEdmond$14,000
- Oklahoma CityOklahoma City · GPA only$13,000
- Oklahoma StateStillwater$15,000
- SWOSUWeatherford$3,520
- UCOEdmond$1,000
- USAOChickasha$7,000
OR9 schools
PA17 schools
- GenevaBeaver Falls$20,000
- GMercyUGwynedd Valley · GPA only · competitive$23,000-$24,000
- Grove CityGrove City · score needed for the money$8,000
- Holy FamilyPhiladelphia · GPA only$26,000
- KutztownKutztown · GPA only$5,000
- La RochePittsburgh · GPA only$21,000
- MillersvilleMillersville · GPA only$4,000
- MoravianBethlehem · GPA only$39,000
- Mount AloysiusCresson · GPA only$11,000
- PennWestCalifornia · GPA only$4,000
- RMUMoon Township · GPA only$29,000
- Saint FrancisLoretto · GPA only$28,500
- Seton HillGreensburg · GPA only$30,000
- ShippensburgShippensburg · GPA only$5,000
- Slippery RockSlippery Rock · GPA only$4,000
- ThielGreenville · GPA only$30,000
- WaynesburgWaynesburg · GPA only$18,000
South Carolina11 schools
- Anderson (SC)Anderson$18,000
- Charleston SouthernNorth Charleston · GPA only$19,000
- Coastal CarolinaConway$19,662
- CokerHartsville · GPA only$14,000
- Francis MarionFlorence · score needed for the moneySee page
- LanderGreenwood · score needed for the money$6,000
- NGUTigerville$12,000
- PresbyterianClinton · GPA only$30,000
- South CarolinaColumbia · competitive$6,000
- USC UpstateSpartanburg$10,000
- WinthropRock Hill$6,000
South Dakota5 schools
Tennessee17 schools
- Austin PeayClarksville · GPA only · competitive$6,000
- BelmontNashville · competitiveSee page
- Bethel (TN)McKenzie$12,000
- BryanDayton$5,600
- Carson-NewmanJefferson City · GPA only$16,000
- CBUMemphis$21,000
- ETSUJohnson City · score needed for the money$5,000
- Freed-HardemanHenderson$18,000
- MaryvilleMaryville · GPA only$26,000
- MemphisMemphis$14,000
- MTSUMurfreesboro · competitive$8,000
- TennesseeKnoxville$18,000
- Tennessee StateNashville · prior cycle$8,500
- Tennessee TechCookeville · score needed for the money$10,000
- TusculumGreeneville · GPA only$15,000
- UnionJackson$17,000
- UT SouthernPulaski$6,000
Texas28 schools
- Angelo StateSan Angelo$10,000
- DBUDallas · prior cycle · score needed for the money$14,000
- East Texas A&MCommerce · GPA only$2,000
- ETBUMarshall$21,000
- Hardin-SimmonsAbilene$22,000
- HCUHouston · GPA only$27,000
- LamarBeaumont$8,000
- LeTourneauLongview$20,000
- Lubbock ChristianLubbock · GPA only$10,000
- McMurryAbilene · GPA only$20,000
- MSU TexasWichita Falls$3,500
- OLLUSan Antonio · GPA only$21,000
- SFANacogdoches · GPA only$6,000
- TAMU-CCCorpus Christi$4,000
- Tarleton StateStephenville$5,000
- Texas A&M-KingsvilleKingsville · competitiveSee page
- Texas LutheranSeguin$3,000
- Texas StateSan Marcos$12,000
- Texas TechLubbock$9,000
- TSUHouston$14,000
- UDallasIrving$37,000
- UMHBBelton$19,000
- UNTDenton · GPA only$12,000
- UT San AntonioSan Antonio · competitive$6,000
- UT TylerTyler · competitive$2,000
- UTPBOdessa · GPA only$4,000
- Wayland BaptistPlainview · competitive$20,588
- West Texas A&MCanyon · competitive · score needed for the money$8,000
Utah6 schools
VA10 schools
- AverettDanville · GPA only$9,500
- BridgewaterBridgewater · GPA only$8,000
- Emory & HenryEmory · GPA only$5,000
- LibertyLynchburg · GPA only$6,500
- LongwoodFarmville · GPA only$7,000
- Mary BaldwinStaunton · GPA only$21,000
- RadfordRadford · GPA only$10,000
- RegentVirginia Beach · GPA only$5,000
- VCURichmond · GPA only$15,000
- Virginia StatePetersburg · GPA only$8,000
Washington6 schools
West Virginia11 schools
- ConcordAthens · GPA only$8,000
- Davis & ElkinsElkins · GPA only$20,000
- Fairmont StateFairmont · GPA onlySee page
- Glenville StateGlenville$4,000
- MarshallHuntington$14,000
- Potomac StateKeyser$8,500
- ShepherdShepherdstown$5,000
- West LibertyWest Liberty$12,000
- WheelingWheeling · score needed for the moneySee page
- WV WesleyanBuckhannon · GPA only$20,000
- WVSUInstitute · GPA only$6,000
WI19 schools
- AlvernoMilwaukee · GPA only$23,000
- BeloitBeloit · GPA onlySee page
- CarrollWaukesha$27,000
- CarthageKenosha · GPA only$24,000
- CUWMequon · GPA onlySee page
- EdgewoodMadison · GPA only$27,000
- Marian (WI)Fond du Lac$18,000
- UW OshkoshOshkosh · GPA onlyTuition
- UW-Eau ClaireEau Claire · GPA only$8,000
- UW-Green BayGreen Bay100% remission
- UW-ParksideKenosha · GPA only · competitive · prior cycle$5,000
- UW-PlattevillePlatteville · GPA only$2,000
- UW-River FallsRiver Falls · GPA only$3,000
- UW-Stevens PointStevens Point$4,000
- UW-SuperiorSuperior · GPA only$7,900
- UW-WhitewaterWhitewater · GPA only$6,000
- UWMMilwaukee · GPA only$3,000
- ViterboLa Crosse · GPA only$26,000
- WLCMilwaukee$21,000
What to do next
Every number on this page moves with one thing.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there — and at most of these schools, one point is the difference between two bands. Finding out takes about three minutes.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed
“Test-optional” does not tell you what it costs to skip the ACT
This is the most expensive misunderstanding in the process, because the phrase describes admission and families read it as describing money. Those are separate policies, and schools land in two different places.
Sometimes a score is required for the money anyway. At the University of Alabama, a score is needed for 2027 admission only if the GPA is below 3.0 — but every band on both scholarship grids is keyed to a test score, and only an official composite counts. A family can read “test-optional”, skip the ACT, get admitted, and never find out they walked past a grid worth five figures a year.
Sometimes there is a genuine test-optional route, at a price. The University of Kentucky publishes a full test-optional column: the same award, reachable with no score at all — at a higher GPA. A 3.50 GPA with a 25 ACT earns what a 3.50 alone does not.
Which means the useful question is never “is this school test-optional?” It is “what does skipping the test cost at this school, for this GPA?” Every school page here answers that directly, with both policies stated side by side.
How this data is gathered and verified
Every number here is a reproduction of something a university published, not an estimate, a scrape of another aggregator, or an average. The rules we hold ourselves to:
- Every figure names its source. Each band stores the URL it was read from, and that link is on the page.
- Nothing is interpolated. If a school states a benefit rather than a dollar amount, the table says exactly that. A missing band stays missing.
- Every school carries a verification date, shown on its page and in the comparison above. Past 120 days the badge stops asserting freshness and says it is due a re-check, rather than showing an old date in confident green.
- Coverage follows accuracy. A school is added when its figures have been confirmed, not to make the list longer.
This is a reference, not financial aid advice, and not a guarantee of any award. Grids change without notice — check the linked source before making a decision on a figure. ClutchACT is not affiliated with any university listed.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a merit scholarship?
There is no national answer, and at a growing number of schools the ACT is not the criterion at all. Where a school does key merit to a score, entry bands commonly begin around 24 to 26 and larger awards cluster at 30 and above — but others, including Kansas, Arizona State and Utah, award on GPA alone, so a higher score changes nothing there. The only figure that matters is the published one at the schools on your list.
Is this merit aid data accurate?
Every figure is read from the school's own published page, stored with the URL it came from, and carries the date a human last confirmed it. We never estimate a missing band or interpolate a value. Grids change by entry year, so each page shows its verification date and links the source so you can check it yourself before relying on it.
Does test-optional mean my child doesn't need an ACT score?
Not necessarily, because the phrase describes admission rather than money. Some schools are test-optional to get in and still key every dollar of merit aid to a test score — the University of Alabama is that case. Others, like the University of Kentucky, publish a real test-optional scholarship route but ask for a higher GPA to use it. The question worth asking is what skipping the test costs at a specific school for a specific GPA.
How much is one more ACT point worth?
It depends entirely on whether that point crosses a band edge. Inside a band it is worth nothing. At the edge it is worth the whole step — on Alabama's published out-of-state grid, moving from a 29 to a 30 is worth $9,000 a year, or $36,000 over four years. This tool shows the next step for each school rather than an average.
Which colleges give automatic merit scholarships for ACT scores?
Mostly large public universities recruiting out-of-state students, plus less selective private colleges competing on price. Highly selective schools generally award need-based aid only, so a score affects admission there rather than cost. We only list schools that publish criteria you can actually quote.
Related tools and guides
- ACT scholarship calculator — for a school not in this dataset yet.
- Test-optional doesn’t mean scholarship-optional — what skipping the ACT costs, school by school.
- How merit aid grids work — a real grid, worked through point by point.
- ACT superscore calculator — and which schools count it for merit.
- ClutchACT for parents — if the points are the problem.