William Penn University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 25, 20262026-27 entryCompetitive, not guaranteedOskaloosa, IA

William Penn University publishes merit aid criteria as a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 20. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

William Penn publishes these four tiers with both a GPA window and an ACT window and no dollar figure for any of them. Third-party sites quote $6,000 to $16,000 a year; no official text confirms it, so nothing is carried. Each tier requires the GPA and the score together, and the printed windows leave gaps — a 3.95 with a 22 matches no row — so the tiers are read as floors here. The guide also says awards "may be awarded", which is not a guarantee, and institutional aid may not exceed demonstrated need when combined with need-based aid.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Academic Achievement Scholarship

William Penn publishes no amount — renews at a 3.50

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published William Penn merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from William Penn University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

First-time freshman academic scholarships

Each tier needs both the GPA and the ACT. No separate application is required, and renewal holds the student to the entry GPA.

  • William Penn publishes no amount — renews at a 3.90

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 28–36 · 3.90+ with a 28 or better

  • William Penn publishes no amount — renews at a 3.75

    Dean's Scholarship

    ACT 24–36 · 3.75–3.89 with a 24 or better

  • William Penn publishes no amount — renews at a 3.65

    Academic Leadership Scholarship

    ACT 21–36 · 3.65–3.74 with a 21 or better

  • William Penn publishes no amount — renews at a 3.50

    Academic Achievement Scholarship

    ACT 20–36 · 3.50–3.64 with a 20 or better

Source: 2026-27 financial aid guide (PDF) · verified 2026-10-25

Does William Penn superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. With four hard ACT windows, a student near a boundary should ask directly.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask William Penn’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from William Penn University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Four tiers, eight published numbers, and no dollar figure anywhere.
  • Third-party sites quote $6,000 to $16,000 a year; no William Penn page confirms it.
  • Each tier requires the GPA and the ACT together, not either one.
  • The printed windows leave gaps — a 3.95 with a 22 matches no row.
  • A score is required for admission as well as for the money: an 18 to get in, a 20 for the scholarship floor.
  • William Penn has no test-optional language at all, which is now rare in this dataset.
  • The guide says awards "may be awarded", which is not a guarantee.
  • Renewal holds the student to the entry GPA, so there is no cushion at any tier.
  • Institutional aid may not exceed demonstrated need when combined with need-based aid.
  • A housing change can adjust the institutional aid.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with William Penn University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at William Penn?

Automatic merit aid at William Penn University starts at an ACT composite of 20, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches william penn publishes no amount — renews at a 3.90 at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is William Penn test-optional?

William Penn's admission page carries no test-optional language at all, which makes it one of very few schools left in this dataset that requires a score to get in. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is required for every tier and for admission itself. The scholarship floor is a 20 with a 3.50; admission needs an 18. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does William Penn superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. With four hard ACT windows, a student near a boundary should ask directly.

Is this William Penn scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from William Penn University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at William Penn. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with William Penn University