Loras College: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 22, 20262026-27 entryACT not used for meritDubuque, IA

Loras College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards reach $28,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

No score is used; Loras ranks on a cumulative WEIGHTED GPA recalculated to a 4.0 scale, so the scale a high school uses moves the band. The spread is narrow against the figures: $22,000 at the bottom and $28,000 at the top. Students must be full-time undergraduates. These are the 2026-27 figures.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

St. Raphael Scholarship

$24,000 / year

About $96,000 over four years, if it renews.

Loras awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Loras merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Loras College’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Acceptance awards

Awarded to accepted students on a cumulative weighted high school GPA. Amounts are annual and renewable.

  • $28,000

    St. Joseph Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $26,000

    St. Bernard Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.80

  • $24,000

    St. Raphael Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.40

  • $23,000

    St. Clare Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

  • $22,000

    Loras Opportunity Grant

    No score needed · GPA 1.00

Source: Merit Scholarships & Grants 2026-27 · verified 2026-10-22

Does Loras superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Loras’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Loras College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Every admitted student is published a figure; the floor is $22,000 below a 3.0.
  • The GPA is weighted and recalculated to a 4.0 scale.
  • The whole ladder spans $6,000 a year.
  • Loras separately advertises a tuition-free path for Pell-eligible students receiving the Iowa Tuition Grant.
  • Loras is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Loras College.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Loras?

Loras College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Loras test-optional?

Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every band is published against a high school GPA and no ACT threshold appears in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Loras?

On Loras's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for St. Raphael Scholarship at $24,000 a year, about $96,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Loras superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

Is this Loras scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Loras College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Loras awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Loras is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Loras College