Luther College: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 22, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritDecorah, IA

Luther College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards reach $39,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Every figure is a MAXIMUM — Luther's own column heading reads 'Maximum Annual Award', so the amount is a ceiling rather than a promise. No score is required; Luther says scores may be considered if submitted, which makes them optional and one-directional rather than part of the grid. The ladder is flat relative to its size: $8,000 a year separates the bottom band from the top. The page carries no cycle year.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Dean Scholarship

Up to $36,000 per year / year

About $144,000 over four years, if it renews.

Luther awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Luther merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Luther College’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Academic merit scholarships

Awarded on the cumulative high school GPA. Luther states the only step required is an application for admission and a transcript.

  • Up to $39,000 per year

    Founders Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.90

  • Up to $37,000 per year

    President's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.70

  • Up to $36,000 per year

    Dean Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • Up to $33,000 per year

    Martin Luther Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.20

  • Up to $31,000 per year

    Achievement Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 1.00

Source: Scholarships — academic merit by GPA range · verified 2026-10-22

Does Luther superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Luther’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Luther College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Every figure is a maximum, not a fixed award — Luther's own heading says so.
  • $8,000 a year separates the bottom band from the top, against figures near $39,000.
  • Scores are not required and are considered only if submitted.
  • A Campus Visit Award adds up to $1,000 a year with no application.
  • The page carries no cycle year.
  • Luther is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Luther College.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Luther?

Luther College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Luther test-optional?

Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every band is published against a high school GPA and no ACT threshold appears in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Luther?

On Luther's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Dean Scholarship at $36,000 a year, about $144,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Luther superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

Is this Luther scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Luther College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Luther awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Luther is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Luther College