Wittenberg University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 22, 2026Current cycleSpringfield, OH

Wittenberg University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 22 and reach $32,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Wittenberg takes whichever of the GPA and the test score is GREATER, so each band is listed twice and a score can only raise an award, never lower it. A student applying test-optional is assessed on the GPA alone and loses nothing by it. The page carries no cycle year, so confirm the figures for the applicable year.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

President's Scholarship (score route)

$32,000 / year

About $128,000 over four years, if it renews.

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Can you get merit aid at Wittenberg without an ACT score?

Yes. Optional and strictly beneficial. A score can reach a band the GPA alone would not, and Wittenberg commits to using whichever measure is greater.

Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.

“The following merit awards are determined based on EITHER cumulative high school GPA or test score - whichever is greater.”

The published Wittenberg merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Wittenberg University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Merit awards

Each award is listed twice because Wittenberg uses whichever of the GPA and the score is greater. The score route needs no GPA and the GPA route needs no score.

  • $32,000

    President's Scholarship (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.90

  • $32,000

    President's Scholarship (score route)

    ACT 28–36 · no GPA required on this route

    Without a score: not available

  • $30,000

    Provost's Scholarship (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.60

  • $30,000

    Provost's Scholarship (score route)

    ACT 25–27 · no GPA required on this route

    Without a score: not available

  • $28,000

    Faculty Scholarship (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.30

  • $28,000

    Faculty Scholarship (score route)

    ACT 22–24 · no GPA required on this route

    Without a score: not available

Source: Scholarships — merit awards by GPA or test score · verified 2026-10-22

Does Wittenberg superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. Wittenberg does commit to taking the better of the GPA and the score, which is a ratchet between measures rather than across sittings.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Wittenberg’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Wittenberg University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Whichever of the GPA and the score is greater decides the band — a score cannot lower an award.
  • The score route is generous relative to the GPA route: a 22 reaches the same $28,000 band as a 3.30 GPA.
  • A test-optional applicant is assessed on the GPA with no penalty, stated outright.
  • The three published bands are $2,000 apart.
  • The page carries no cycle year.
  • Wittenberg is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Wittenberg University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Wittenberg?

Automatic merit aid at Wittenberg University starts at an ACT composite of 22, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $32,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Wittenberg test-optional?

Wittenberg runs a test-optional path and states the merit consequence of using it: the award is based on the cumulative GPA, with no penalty attached. For merit aid the answer is different: optional and strictly beneficial. A score can reach a band the GPA alone would not, and Wittenberg commits to using whichever measure is greater. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Wittenberg?

On Wittenberg's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for President's Scholarship (score route) at $32,000 a year, about $128,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at Wittenberg?

The most valuable single point on Wittenberg's published grid is 24 to 25, at a GPA of act 25-27 — no gpa required on this route: it moves the award by $2,000 a year, or $8,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does Wittenberg superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. Wittenberg does commit to taking the better of the GPA and the score, which is a ratchet between measures rather than across sittings.

Is this Wittenberg scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Wittenberg University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Wittenberg. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Wittenberg University