Marietta College: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 21, 2026Fall 2027 and Spring 2028 entryACT not used for meritMarietta, OH

Marietta College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards reach $26,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

No score is used — Marietta awards these on the high school GPA alone, automatically on the admission application, and states they are made regardless of financial need. Recipients must enrol full-time in their first bachelor's degree programme. The ladder is bottom-heavy: the top two bands are $1,000 apart and the bottom two $5,000 apart, so a point of GPA is worth far more at the low end than the high end. Marietta publishes a separate international grid with different figures on the same page.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Marietta Distinction

$25,000 / year

About $100,000 over four years, if it renews.

Marietta awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Marietta merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Marietta College’s own pages for Fall 2027 and Spring 2028 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

First-year scholarships

Automatic on the admission application with no separate form, and notified at the time of admission. Recipients must enrol full-time in a first bachelor's degree.

  • $26,000

    1835 Founders

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $25,000

    Marietta Distinction

    No score needed · GPA 3.60

  • $22,000

    Compass

    No score needed · GPA 3.30

  • $19,000

    Riverside

    No score needed · GPA 2.95

  • $14,000

    Pioneer

    No score needed · GPA 1.00

Source: First-Year Scholarships, Fall 2027 and Spring 2028 · verified 2026-10-21

Does Marietta superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no Marietta merit band uses a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Marietta’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Marietta College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Moving from a 2.94 to a 2.95 is worth $5,000 a year; moving from a 3.99 to a 4.00 is worth $1,000.
  • Awarded regardless of financial need, and notified at the time of admission.
  • No separate scholarship application — the admission application is the whole process.
  • Recipients must enrol full-time in their first bachelor's degree programme.
  • Marietta publishes a separate international scholarship grid on the same page with its own figures.
  • The Fall 2027 and Spring 2028 dating makes this one of the current grids in this dataset.
  • Marietta is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Marietta College.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Marietta?

Marietta College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Marietta test-optional?

Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Marietta states the awards are based on the high school GPA, and no ACT threshold appears anywhere in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Marietta?

On Marietta's published grid for Fall 2027 and Spring 2028 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Marietta Distinction at $25,000 a year, about $100,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Marietta superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no Marietta merit band uses a score.

Is this Marietta scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Marietta College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Marietta awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Marietta is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Marietta College