University of Findlay: merit scholarships by ACT score
University of Findlay awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 21 and reach $25,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
The score is an alternative route and a bonus here, never a requirement — Findlay states it will 'always apply the highest scholarship amount in your favor', so a score can only raise an award. The top three bands publish a GPA and a test score and EITHER reaches them; the bottom two print N/A in the test column and are GPA-only. Separately, a 30 ACT or higher adds a flat $2,000 on top of whatever band a student lands in. Findlay also accepts the CLT. These are the 2027-28 figures; Findlay publishes a different 2026-27 grid on the same page with higher GPA cuts, so check which year applies.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Trustee (score route)
$25,000 / year
About $100,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
Can you get merit aid at Findlay without an ACT score?
Yes. Optional and strictly beneficial. A score can reach a band the GPA alone would not, and a 30 adds a flat $2,000 — but no band requires one and the bottom two cannot be reached with a score at all.
Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.
“UF will always apply the highest scholarship amount in your favor.”
The published Findlay merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from University of Findlay’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Merit scholarships, 2027-28
The top three bands are reachable by GPA or by test score, whichever helps more, so each is listed twice. The bottom two publish no test route. A 30 ACT adds $2,000 on top of any of them.
$25,000
Trustee (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 4.00
$25,000
Trustee (score route)
ACT 27–36 · no GPA required on this route
Without a score: not available
$24,000
Presidential (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 3.85
$24,000
Presidential (score route)
ACT 23–26 · no GPA required on this route
Without a score: not available
$22,500
Deans (GPA route)
No score needed · GPA 3.60
$22,500
Deans (score route)
ACT 21–22 · no GPA required on this route
Without a score: not available
$20,000
Faculty
No score needed · GPA 3.20
$18,500
Merit
No score needed · GPA 1.00
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trustee (GPA route) | — | GPA 4.00 | $25,000 |
| Trustee (score route) | ACT 27–36 · no GPA required on this route | not available | $25,000 |
| Presidential (GPA route) | — | GPA 3.85 | $24,000 |
| Presidential (score route) | ACT 23–26 · no GPA required on this route | not available | $24,000 |
| Deans (GPA route) | — | GPA 3.60 | $22,500 |
| Deans (score route) | ACT 21–22 · no GPA required on this route | not available | $22,500 |
| Faculty | — | GPA 3.20 | $20,000 |
| Merit | — | GPA 1.00 | $18,500 |
Source: Scholarships — Merit Scholarships for 2027-28 Academic Year · verified 2026-10-21
Does Findlay superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. Findlay does say it takes the better of the GPA and the test result, which is a ratchet between measures rather than a superscore across sittings.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Findlay’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from University of Findlay’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The score can only help. Findlay commits in writing to applying the highest amount in the student's favour.
- A 30 ACT or higher adds a flat $2,000 a year on top of whatever band applies — worth $8,000 over four years.
- The score route is generous relative to the GPA route: a 21 reaches the same $22,500 band as a 3.6 GPA.
- The bottom two bands have no test route at all; Findlay prints N/A.
- Findlay accepts the Classic Learning Test as well as the ACT and SAT.
- Findlay publishes both a 2026-27 and a 2027-28 grid on the same page, and the GPA cuts differ — 3.9 versus 3.85 at Presidential, 3.3 versus 3.2 at Faculty. Confirm which year applies.
- The ladder spans $6,500 a year from top to bottom.
- Findlay is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Findlay.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Findlay?
Automatic merit aid at University of Findlay starts at an ACT composite of 21, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $25,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Findlay test-optional?
Findlay describes itself as test-optional and frames the merit question as a choice between a strong GPA and a strong score, taking whichever produces more money. For merit aid the answer is different: optional and strictly beneficial. A score can reach a band the GPA alone would not, and a 30 adds a flat $2,000 — but no band requires one and the bottom two cannot be reached with a score at all. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Findlay?
On Findlay's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Trustee (score route) at $25,000 a year, about $100,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Findlay?
The most valuable single point on Findlay's published grid is 20 to 21, at a 1.0 GPA: it moves the award by $4,000 a year, or $16,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does Findlay superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. Findlay does say it takes the better of the GPA and the test result, which is a ratchet between measures rather than a superscore across sittings.
Is this Findlay scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from University of Findlay's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Findlay. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Findlay