University of Evansville: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 21, 2026Fall 2027 entryEvansville, IN

University of Evansville awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 21 and reach $32,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Evansville takes whichever of the GPA and the test score produces more money — it says so in capitals on its own page — so each band is listed twice and a score can only help. The GPA is WEIGHTED and the top band needs a 4.25, which only a weighted scale reaches; Evansville recalculates where a school does not use one, so the transcript figure may not be the figure used. Unusually, an improved score or GPA is still accepted after admission, through February 1, 2027, so a retake that lands late can still raise the award.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Dean's (score route)

$29,000 / year

About $116,000 over four years, if it renews.

What the next points are worth

1 more point (a 30) moves you to Presidential (score route) — $32,000 a year. That is $3,000 more a year, or $12,000 over four years.

The question isn't whether a point is worth having. It's whether they can move it — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Can you get merit aid at Evansville without an ACT score?

Yes. Optional and strictly beneficial. A score can reach a band a GPA would not, and Evansville commits to using whichever benefits the student most.

Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.

“WE BASE YOUR SCHOLARSHIP ON YOUR GPA OR TEST SCORE-WHICHEVER BENEFITS YOU MOST!”

The published Evansville merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Evansville’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Academic merit scholarships, Fall 2027

Awarded at the time of admission and held at the same value in later years. Each level is listed twice because Evansville uses whichever of the GPA and the score benefits the student most.

  • $32,000

    Presidential (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 4.25

  • $32,000

    Presidential (score route)

    ACT 30–36 · no GPA required on this route

    Without a score: not available

  • $29,000

    Dean's (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $29,000

    Dean's (score route)

    ACT 27–29 · no GPA required on this route

    Without a score: not available

  • $26,000

    Faculty (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $26,000

    Faculty (score route)

    ACT 25–26 · no GPA required on this route

    Without a score: not available

  • $23,000

    Academic (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • $23,000

    Academic (score route)

    ACT 23–24 · no GPA required on this route

    Without a score: not available

  • $20,000

    Aces (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.25

  • $20,000

    Aces (score route)

    ACT 21–22 · no GPA required on this route

    Without a score: not available

Source: Scholarships for Entering Freshmen — Fall 2027 · verified 2026-10-21

Does Evansville superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. What Evansville does commit to is taking the better of the GPA and the score, and accepting an updated score as late as February 1 — both of which reward a retake even without a superscore policy.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Evansville’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Evansville scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Updated test scores or GPA accepted throughFebruary 1, 2027
Engagement awards — campus visit, FAFSA filing, essayMay 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Evansville’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Whichever of the GPA and the score is stronger decides the band, stated in capitals on Evansville's own page.
  • The GPA is weighted and the top band needs a 4.25, so the scale matters as much as the number.
  • An improved score is accepted through February 1, 2027 — after admission — which is rare and directly rewards a late retake.
  • The score route is strong: a 21 reaches the same $20,000 band as a 3.25 weighted GPA.
  • Below a 3.25 or a 21, Evansville prints 'amount varies' rather than a figure, so the Purple band is not modelled.
  • Three separate engagement awards — a campus visit, filing the FAFSA, and an essay — add $1,000, $1,000 and $500 a year, each with a May 1 deadline.
  • Amounts hold flat in later years rather than rising, so the first-year figure is the figure.
  • Evansville is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Evansville.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Evansville?

Automatic merit aid at University of Evansville starts at an ACT composite of 21, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $32,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Evansville test-optional?

Test-optional, and Evansville states the fallback explicitly: without a score it uses the GPA. Neither path is penalised. For merit aid the answer is different: optional and strictly beneficial. A score can reach a band a GPA would not, and Evansville commits to using whichever benefits the student most. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Evansville?

On Evansville's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Presidential (score route) at $32,000 a year, about $128,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at Evansville?

The most valuable single point on Evansville's published grid is 22 to 23, at a GPA of act 23-24 — no gpa required on this route: it moves the award by $3,000 a year, or $12,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does Evansville superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. What Evansville does commit to is taking the better of the GPA and the score, and accepting an updated score as late as February 1 — both of which reward a retake even without a superscore policy.

When are Evansville scholarship deadlines?

Updated test scores or GPA accepted through: February 1, 2027. Engagement awards — campus visit, FAFSA filing, essay: May 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Evansville scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Evansville's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Evansville. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Evansville