Anderson University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 23, 20262027-28 entryACT not used for meritAnderson, IN

Anderson University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.25 GPA and reach $22,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

An ACT score is worth nothing toward Anderson's merit ladder as AU publishes it for 2027-28: one axis, high school GPA, awarded automatically on admission. That is a change — AU's prior-cycle page said the freshman calculation used "either your GPA or a calculation of your GPA and test scores", but that calculation lived inside a widget and was never published as a table, so it was never a lookup. Two further caveats: anderson.edu serves a bot wall to every automated client, so these figures are re-checked against the Internet Archive's copy of AU's own page rather than the live one; and AU states that a total aid package "cannot be more than the amount billed by the university", so stacking these awards does not produce a refund.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Nicholson Scholarship

$18,000/year / year

About $72,000 over four years, if it renews.

Anderson (IN) awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Anderson (IN) merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Anderson University’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

2027-2028 merit scholarships for incoming freshmen

Awarded automatically on admission from high school GPA, for students beginning in fall 2027 or spring 2028. AU's Engagement Scholarships — $1,500 for a campus visit, $1,250 for filing the FAFSA by February 1, a $500 one-time credit for applying before November 1, $1,000 for the Launch dual-credit program — add on top of whichever row you land on, up to $3,250 in the first year.

  • $22,000/year

    Presidential Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $20,000/year

    Edwards Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $18,000/year

    Nicholson Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 2.75

  • $14,000/year

    Reardon Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 2.25

  • $10,000/year

    Morrison Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 0.00

Source: 2027-2028 Anderson University Scholarships — merit scholarships for incoming students · verified 2026-10-23

Does Anderson (IN) superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. The word superscore appears on neither AU page that could be read, and with the 2027-28 ladder decided on GPA alone a combined composite has nothing to attach to.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Anderson (IN)’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Anderson (IN) scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Apply, for the Early Applicant Credit of $500Oct. 31 — AU words the criterion as "Apply prior to Nov. 1"
File the FAFSA, for the $1,250 Priority FAFSA Filer scholarshipFeb. 1
Campus Visit ScholarshipOngoing

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Anderson University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • AU's financial aid package is capped at its own bill: "In most cases, your total financial aid package cannot be more than the amount billed by the university." Stacking a church award onto an $22,000 scholarship can therefore reduce the scholarship rather than add cash.
  • A whole group of $5,000 awards is mutually exclusive, and AU says so: Christian High School & Homeschool, Out-of-State, International Student, Madison County Direct Admit and Transfer are each $5,000, and "These scholarships are non-stackable with each other. Students may qualify for one of these awards within their financial aid package."
  • AU's full-tuition money is competitive, not a lookup. Six departmental competitions (Technology, Engineering, Nursing, Falls School of Business, Exercise Science, Social Science) each pay full tuition to the winner and $2,000 to a participant, and the Honors Program pays full tuition, $2,500 for selection, or $1,000 for an interview that does not lead to selection. None has a published ACT or GPA gate, so none is in the grid.
  • Church of God heritage money is real and additive: $5,000 Church of God Scholarship, $1,000 for a Church of God minister's dependent, a $500 Church Matching Scholarship, and full tuition for the International Youth Convention and National Association of the Church of God awards.
  • Indiana state money is state money. AU lists a "21st Century Promise Scholarship: Full Tuition" under its Local & Indiana heading, but the 21st Century Scholars and Frank O'Bannon Grant programs are administered by the state of Indiana and are not part of AU's GPA ladder.
  • AU's prior-cycle page published a different and finer ladder — eight rungs from $23,000 at a 4.0 down to $8,000 at a 2.5 — so a figure found on anderson.edu is not necessarily a 2027-28 figure. The five-rung table is the one AU labels for fall 2027 and spring 2028 entry.
  • Transfer students get their own five-rung ladder at $16,000 down to $8,000, require 15 or more credit hours, and can add a $5,000 Transfer Scholarship or a $2,000 Phi Theta Kappa award. Do not read the freshman rows across.
  • More than 500 additional donor-funded awards exist and AU routes them through a scholarship profile with the Office of Admission rather than publishing criteria: "Some additional scholarships require an application, participation in a scholarship competition, or meeting specific eligibility requirements."
  • Because the live site cannot be fetched, treat the Archive snapshot date the verifier prints as a prompt to re-read AU's page by hand before relying on a figure.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Anderson University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Anderson (IN)?

Anderson University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Anderson (IN) test-optional?

Not recorded. anderson.edu returns a 168-byte bot-wall response to every scripted request, and the one archived admission page that could be read is from 2021 — too old to publish as AU's current policy. The 2027-2028 scholarship page says only that "Students are reviewed for merit scholarships through the admission process" and never mentions a test. For merit aid the answer is different: not used for 2027-28. The merit ladder has a single GPA axis and AU states the awards are automatic on GPA. The honest footnote is that AU's prior-cycle page did let a score into the calculation — "either your GPA or a calculation of your GPA and test scores (whichever gives the student the highest benefit)" — but published the calculation only as a widget, so even then there was no band a student could look themselves up in. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Anderson (IN)?

On Anderson (IN)'s published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Nicholson Scholarship at $18,000 a year, about $72,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Anderson (IN) superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. The word superscore appears on neither AU page that could be read, and with the 2027-28 ladder decided on GPA alone a combined composite has nothing to attach to.

When are Anderson (IN) scholarship deadlines?

Apply, for the Early Applicant Credit of $500: Oct. 31 — AU words the criterion as "Apply prior to Nov. 1". File the FAFSA, for the $1,250 Priority FAFSA Filer scholarship: Feb. 1. Campus Visit Scholarship: Ongoing. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Anderson (IN) scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Anderson University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Anderson (IN) awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Anderson (IN) is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Anderson University