Capital University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritColumbus, OH

Capital University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $30,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

These figures are the COMBINED package Capital quotes, not the merit portion alone. An earlier version of the page split it into a $20,000 base plus $2,000 to $8,000 of merit, so comparing Capital's $30,000 against a school quoting merit only is not like for like. The GPA is WEIGHTED, unlike most grids here.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Capital Merit Scholarship

$28,000 / year

About $112,000 over four years, if it renews.

Capital awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Capital merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Capital University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Capital Merit Scholarship

Keyed to the weighted high school GPA. The same figures apply in-state and out-of-state.

  • $30,000

    Capital Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $29,000

    Capital Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $28,000

    Capital Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $25,000

    Capital Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $23,000

    Capital Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $20,000

    Capital Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: First-year student scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does Capital superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it cannot matter. The grid never mentions a test score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Capital’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Capital University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The spread across the whole ladder is $10,000 — a 2.5 is worth $20,000 and a 4.0 is worth $30,000 — so most of the quoted figure is not merit-sensitive.
  • The published figures are the combined package. An earlier version of the page separated a $20,000 base from $2,000 to $8,000 of merit.
  • The GPA is WEIGHTED, which is unusual. Most grids in this dataset specify unweighted.
  • The same figures apply to in-state and out-of-state students.
  • No test score is used at any rung.
  • Capital does not publish a cycle year or its renewal thresholds.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Capital University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Capital?

Capital University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Capital test-optional?

The first-year scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: the grid is keyed to the weighted high school GPA alone. Capital's scholarship page never mentions the ACT or SAT, so a score cannot move this award. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Capital?

On Capital's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Capital Merit Scholarship at $28,000 a year, about $112,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Capital superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it cannot matter. The grid never mentions a test score.

Is this Capital scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Capital University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Capital awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Capital is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Capital University