Kutztown University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 22, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritKutztown, PA

Kutztown University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.75 GPA and reach $5,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

No score is used. The out-of-state column is larger at every band, which offsets a non-resident bill rather than rewarding non-residence — at the 3.0-3.49 band a non-resident receives double the resident award. The figures below are the in-state grid; the out-of-state track follows. The page carries no cycle year.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Founders Scholarship

$3,000 / year

About $12,000 over four years, if it renews.

Kutztown awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Kutztown merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Kutztown University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

In-state first-year students

Awarded on the high school GPA on a 4.0 scale. Kutztown publishes a separate, larger grid for out-of-state students.

  • $5,000

    Presidential Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.85

  • $3,000

    Founders Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • $2,000

    Outstanding Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

  • $1,000

    Emerging Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 2.75

Source: Merit Scholarships for First Year Students · verified 2026-10-22

Does Kutztown superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Kutztown’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Kutztown University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The out-of-state grid pays more at every band — $6,000, $5,000, $4,000 and $1,500 respectively.
  • A non-resident at a 3.0-3.49 receives double the resident award.
  • The ladder reaches down to a 2.75.
  • The page carries no cycle year.
  • Kutztown is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Kutztown University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Kutztown?

Kutztown University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Kutztown test-optional?

Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every band is published against a high school GPA and no ACT threshold appears in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Kutztown?

On Kutztown's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Founders Scholarship at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Kutztown superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

Is this Kutztown scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Kutztown University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Kutztown awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Kutztown is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Kutztown University