Thiel College: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 25, 20262026-27 entryACT not used for meritGreenville, PA

Thiel College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $30,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Thiel's own pages disagree about whether scores count: its application page says high school GPA will be used to award merit scholarships, while its institutional scholarship page says awards are based on academic performance and standardized test scores. The grid names no ACT, so the application page is followed. The page also never says the amounts are per year, and never uses the word automatic — it states only that the GPA will be used.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Merit Award

$26,000 a year / year

About $104,000 over four years, if it renews.

Thiel awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Thiel merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Thiel College’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

First-year merit awards

Read on the high school GPA, renewable for four years with required academic progress. Admission is rolling.

  • $30,000 a year

    Merit Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $26,000 a year

    Merit Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • $24,000 a year

    Merit Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

  • $22,000 a year

    Merit Award

    No score needed · GPA 2.50

Source: Financial aid — 2026-2027 academic year merit awards · verified 2026-10-25

Does Thiel superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and the published grid reads no score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Thiel’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Thiel scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Enrollment depositMay 1
Applications openJuly 1 — rolling admission

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Thiel College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A 2.50 reaches $22,000 a year, one of the highest floors among this dataset's private colleges.
  • The whole ladder spans $8,000 against that $22,000 floor.
  • The 3.74-to-3.75 step is worth $4,000 a year — half the ladder's entire span.
  • The two steps below it are worth $2,000 each.
  • Thiel's application page and its institutional scholarship page disagree about whether scores count.
  • The grid itself names no ACT.
  • The page never says the amounts are per year.
  • No score is required to apply.
  • Thiel's transfer grid is separate and lower: $28,000, $25,000, $23,000 and $19,000.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Thiel College.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Thiel?

Thiel College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Thiel test-optional?

No score is needed to apply, and the merit grid names none either. For merit aid the answer is different: thiel's institutional scholarship page contradicts this by naming standardized test scores, but the grid itself has no ACT anywhere, so the GPA-only statement is followed. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Thiel?

On Thiel's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Merit Award at $26,000 a year, about $104,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Thiel superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and the published grid reads no score.

When are Thiel scholarship deadlines?

Enrollment deposit: May 1. Applications open: July 1 — rolling admission. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Thiel scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Thiel College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Thiel awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Thiel is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Thiel College