Saint Francis University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 25, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritLoretto, PA

Saint Francis University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.9 GPA and reach $28,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Saint Francis says a completed application "automatically puts you in the running" for its merit awards, which is softer than a guarantee — so these are published minimums rather than promises. Its two pages give different dates for fullest consideration, March 1 on one and May 1 of senior year on the other, with a hard August 1 cut-off. Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated, and the renewal condition comes from a third-party source rather than Saint Francis's own page.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Bell Tower Scholarship

$22,500 each undergraduate year, $90,000 over four / year

About $90,000 over four years, if it renews.

Saint Francis awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Saint Francis merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Saint Francis University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

First-time freshman merit awards

Five stated minimums, each printed with a four-year total. No windows, so there is no rounding question.

  • $28,500 each undergraduate year, $114,000 over four

    Founders' Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $25,000 each undergraduate year, $100,000 over four

    Presidential Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $22,500 each undergraduate year, $90,000 over four

    Bell Tower Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.45

  • $21,000 each undergraduate year, $84,000 over four

    Assisi Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.20

  • $19,250 each undergraduate year, $77,000 over four

    Dorothy Day Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 2.90

Source: Scholarships and aid · verified 2026-10-25

Does Saint Francis superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and the grid reads no score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Saint Francis’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Saint Francis scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Fullest considerationBefore March 1
Suggested for meritMay 1 of senior year
Hard application deadline for fallAugust 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Saint Francis University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Every threshold is a stated minimum, so there are no windows to fall between.
  • A 2.90 reaches $19,250 a year — more than two thirds of what the top award pays.
  • The whole ladder spans $9,250 a year from a 2.90 to a 4.00.
  • The largest single step is 3.45 to 3.75, worth $2,500 a year.
  • Each award is printed with its four-year total alongside the annual figure.
  • No rung reads an ACT score, and Saint Francis requires no score to apply.
  • The wording is "in the running", which is softer than a guarantee.
  • Its two pages give different dates for fullest consideration.
  • The Captain McGuire award at $18,000 a year prints no minimum GPA, so it is not a band here.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Saint Francis University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Saint Francis?

Saint Francis University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Saint Francis test-optional?

Saint Francis is also described elsewhere as test-blind, which its own page does not say, so nothing further is claimed. For merit aid the answer is different: the grid is GPA alone. A student with no ACT reaches the $28,500 top award at a 4.00 exactly as a 36 would. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Saint Francis?

On Saint Francis's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Bell Tower Scholarship at $22,500 a year, about $90,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Saint Francis superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and the grid reads no score.

When are Saint Francis scholarship deadlines?

Fullest consideration: Before March 1. Suggested for merit: May 1 of senior year. Hard application deadline for fall: August 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Saint Francis scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Saint Francis University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Saint Francis awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Saint Francis is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Saint Francis University