Saginaw Valley State University: merit scholarships by GPA
Saginaw Valley State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $6,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
An ACT score cannot move this money. SVSU states outright that it bases academic scholarship decisions on cumulative GPA and not on SAT or ACT scores, so the ladder below is GPA alone. Two further limits worth knowing: the awards are "subject to the availability of remaining funds", so a qualifying GPA late in the cycle may still miss out, and these thresholds apply to students starting in 2027-28 — SVSU's earlier grid was stricter at every tier.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Cardinal Scholarship
$4,000 per year for up to four years / year
About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.
Saginaw Valley State awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Saginaw Valley State merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Saginaw Valley State University’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Academic Scholarships — start term 2027-28 and beyond
No separate application: "Students who satisfy the respective criteria will be considered upon admission to the University." Students receive one of these awards, not a combination — the only exception is the Valley Housing Scholarship, worth $1,500 a year to a recipient living on campus. SVSU also honours an originally offered scholarship for a student who did not enrol the first semester after graduating.
$6,500 per year for up to four years
Founder's Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.95
$5,000 per year for up to four years
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.70
$4,000 per year for up to four years
Cardinal Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.40
$3,000 per year for up to four years
University Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.00
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Founder's Scholarship | — | GPA 3.95 | $6,500 per year for up to four years |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | GPA 3.70 | $5,000 per year for up to four years |
| Cardinal Scholarship | — | GPA 3.40 | $4,000 per year for up to four years |
| University Scholarship | — | GPA 3.00 | $3,000 per year for up to four years |
Competitive awards — not automatic
Meeting these makes you eligible to be reviewed, not to receive the award, so they are kept out of the calculator above.
- President's Scholarship — , or GPA 3.95 with no score: Covers tuition up to 120 credit hours toward your first degree
Source: Academic Scholarships — tiers for start term 2027-28 and beyond · verified 2026-10-23
Does Saginaw Valley State superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot. The word "superscore" appears nowhere on SVSU's scholarship or first-year admissions pages, and no SVSU academic scholarship reads a test score at all, so there is nothing for a superscore policy to govern. Scores are used for course placement only, where the highest subscores would help regardless.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Saginaw Valley State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Saginaw Valley State scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Apply to SVSU for full President's Scholarship consideration | December 1 |
| Be admitted for full President's Scholarship consideration | December 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Saginaw Valley State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Academic Scholarships — tiers for start term 2027-28 and beyondverified 2026-10-23
- Scholarships — what academic awards are based onverified 2026-10-23
- First-Year Admissions — test-optional policyverified 2026-10-23
- The ACT cannot move this money. SVSU: "We base decisions for academic scholarships on your cumulative GPA—not SAT or ACT score." Send a score anyway for English and math placement, and to test out of the College Transition Program.
- The grid is not a funding guarantee. SVSU writes that awarding "is made by the Office of Undergraduate Admissions and is subject to the availability of remaining funds", so applying early matters even at a qualifying GPA.
- One award only. The five academic scholarships are mutually exclusive; the single stackable exception is the Valley Housing Scholarship at $1,500 a year, which requires living on campus and is a "last dollar" award — any other housing-specific aid is applied first and reduces it.
- The Cardinal Scholarship's published renewal figure is higher than its first-year figure: $4,000 per year as the award, "maximum $4,500 per academic year" under renewal. The other four tiers renew at the same amount. Both figures are reproduced as SVSU prints them; ask Admissions which applies.
- Renewal counts 24 credit hours across fall, winter, spring AND summer semesters. Summer credits counting toward the annual total is more generous than the fall/spring-only rule most schools in this dataset use.
- Every threshold moved in the student's favour for 2027-28 entry: Founder's fell from a 4.0 to a 3.95, Dean's from 3.75 to a 3.70 floor, Cardinal from 3.5 to 3.40, University from 3.25 to 3.00. A student reading an older SVSU page or a third-party summary will see the stricter numbers.
- SVSU's own wording on the middle tiers is internally contradictory — "3.70 - 3.94 or higher" names a closed range and a minimum in one sentence. The closed ranges are used here, which costs nobody anything because the tier above pays more.
- The President's Scholarship is a competition, not a grid row. A 3.95 GPA plus admission by December 15 earns an invitation to write a timed essay on campus and complete an online questionnaire; the award covers tuition up to 120 credit hours and SVSU names no dollar figure for it.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Saginaw Valley State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Saginaw Valley State?
Saginaw Valley State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Saginaw Valley State test-optional?
Test-optional for admission, and SVSU is explicit that this extends to the money: not submitting a score costs nothing, and submitting one cannot hurt. Without a score a student either sits SVSU's basic skills testing before orientation or is placed in the lowest remedial coursework. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. SVSU's admissions page says it "does not use test scores for admission or the majority of our scholarships", and its scholarships page is blunter still: "We base decisions for academic scholarships on your cumulative GPA—not SAT or ACT score." A score's only effect on money is indirect — it can let a student test out of the College Transition Program. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Saginaw Valley State?
On Saginaw Valley State's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Cardinal Scholarship at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Saginaw Valley State superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot. The word "superscore" appears nowhere on SVSU's scholarship or first-year admissions pages, and no SVSU academic scholarship reads a test score at all, so there is nothing for a superscore policy to govern. Scores are used for course placement only, where the highest subscores would help regardless.
When are Saginaw Valley State scholarship deadlines?
Apply to SVSU for full President's Scholarship consideration: December 1. Be admitted for full President's Scholarship consideration: December 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Saginaw Valley State scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Saginaw Valley State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Saginaw Valley State awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Saginaw Valley State is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Saginaw Valley State University