Albion College: merit scholarships by GPA
Albion College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.39 GPA and reach $20,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Albion's merit table is keyed to high school GPA alone — no ACT or SAT score appears in it, and submitting a score cannot move the award. Consideration is automatic ('All applicants are automatically considered'), but Albion also says recipients are awarded 'based upon overall academic achievement, extracurricular involvement, leadership, and personal merit', so read the table as the published ladder rather than the whole decision. Two further things to hold: the figures are Albion's stated 2027-2028 values, published alongside a tuition reset to $38,000 for fall 2027; and Albion's own numbering leaves a gap — the Ferguson row ends at 3.38 and the Briton row starts at 3.39, so a GPA strictly between them matches no published row.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Webster Scholarship
$16,000 / year
About $64,000 over four years, if it renews.
Albion awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Albion merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Albion College’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-year merit scholarships
Awarded off the admission application — Albion says all applicants are automatically considered and notification comes with the offer of admission. The Senior Visit ($2,000), Out of State ($3,000), Alumni/Legacy ($3,000) and Referral ($3,000) awards are separate additive money, not a second grid, so they are not bands here.
$20,000
Presidential Scholarship
No score needed
$16,000
Webster Scholarship
No score needed
$12,000
Briton Scholarship
No score needed
$10,000
Ferguson Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | — | $20,000 |
| Webster Scholarship | — | $16,000 |
| Briton Scholarship | — | $12,000 |
| Ferguson Scholarship | — | $10,000 |
Source: Albion College Scholarships — Merit Scholarships table (2027-2028 values) · verified 2026-10-23
Does Albion superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and at Albion the question does not arise. The word 'superscore' appears on neither the scholarship page, the financial aid pages nor the first-year admission page — and since the merit table has no score axis at all, no combination of sittings changes the award.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Albion’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Albion scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| FAFSA filing begins for fall semester | October 1 |
| Early Decision application deadline (binding; merit notification comes with the admission offer) | November 1 |
| Scholarship notifications begin | November 1 |
| Financial aid notifications sent to entering first-year students | Mid-November |
| Early Action application deadline for fall semester | December 1 |
| FAFSA encouraged for Early Action applicants | December 1 |
| FAFSA recommended deadline (admission page) | February 1 |
| Recommended FAFSA filing deadline (financial aid page) | March 1 |
| Admission application deadline for scholarship priority | March 1 |
| FAFSA filing deadline for Michigan residents to potentially qualify for State funding | May 1 |
| Candidate reply date; deposit day for incoming first-years | May 1 |
| Deadline for completing financial aid requirements so aid is on the account before the fall payment is due | August 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Albion College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Albion College Scholarships — Merit Scholarships table (2027-2028 values)verified 2026-10-23
- First-Year Admission — test-optional policy and application deadlinesverified 2026-10-23
- Apply for Aid — FAFSA dates and notificationsverified 2026-10-23
- Grants — Michigan Tuition Grant, Competitive Scholarship and Achievement Scholarshipverified 2026-10-23
- 2027-28 Tuition Realignment — the reset the merit values were published withverified 2026-10-23
- Albion's own numbering leaves a hole between two rows. Ferguson is '3.38 & Below' and Briton is '3.39 - 3.59', so a GPA of, say, 3.385 sits in neither. That boundary has not been widened here, because interpolating a band a school did not publish is exactly the error this dataset refuses. If your GPA lands in that sliver, ask Albion which row it rounds into.
- Four awards are additive, automatic and not in the grid, and together they are worth more than two merit tiers: the Senior Visit Scholarship ($2,000, automatic for visiting campus after the start of junior year), the Out of State Scholarship ($3,000, automatic for all out-of-state students), Alumni/Legacy ($3,000, for children, siblings or grandchildren of Albion graduates) and Referral ($3,000, which needs a referral form submitted before admission). Albion describes these as requiring 'additional steps beyond the application for admission', so none is a band.
- Alumni/Legacy and Referral are mutually exclusive — 'Students cannot receive both the Alumni/Legacy and Referral scholarships.' Every other award on the page stacks as far as Albion says.
- The Michigan Achievement Scholarship, the Michigan Tuition Grant and the Michigan Competitive Scholarship are STATE money, not Albion's, and none of them is in this grid. This matters here more than at a public university, because the Achievement Scholarship is specifically available at Michigan private colleges and arrives in the same award letter as the merit scholarship — families routinely read the combined figure as Albion's offer. Albion's own grants page prices it at 'Up to $4,000 depending on state funding' and requires a FAFSA with a Student Aid Index of $30,000 or less, and it is restricted to Michigan residents who graduated from a Michigan high school after May 2023. The Michigan Tuition Grant and Competitive Scholarship are 'Variable depending upon the State allocation' and need-based.
- Three different FAFSA deadlines appear on three Albion pages and they do not agree: the first-year admission page says 'February 1 — FAFSA recommended deadline', the Apply for Aid page says 'March 1 — Recommended FAFSA filing deadline', and the same page also sets 'May 1 — FAFSA filing deadline for Michigan Residents to potentially qualify for State funding'. Only the May 1 one is a hard loss if missed; file by February 1 and all three are satisfied.
- Albion is a United Methodist college and matches church money: 'Albion College will match a scholarship that a student receives from his/her local United Methodist Church up to $1,000', on a separate John Wesley Scholarship Application. It also participates in the United Methodist Foundation's 'Triple Your Dollars for Scholars' programme. Both are additive and neither is in the grid.
- Fine Arts scholarships in art, music and theatre are open regardless of academic major but 'require an additional interview or audition', so they are not automatic and are excluded from the lookup. The same holds for the departmental and institute awards (Ford, Gerstacker, Cutler, Wilson) which all run their own applications.
- These values were published alongside a tuition reset: from fall 2027 Albion's tuition is $19,000 a semester, $38,000 a year, with a total direct cost of $52,330 including housing and a 21-meal plan. Albion says current students move to the new tuition in fall 2027 and that aid packages are 'structured so your out-of-pocket cost stays consistent'. Compare the merit figures against the new sticker price, not the old one.
- The scholarship page's prose range — 'merit and special scholarships ranging from $10,000 to $20,000' — is the same four-row ladder plus the special awards, not a separate or more generous pool. International students sit outside it entirely: Albion says admitted international students get 'awards covering approximately 60% of expenses' and should expect to contribute $25,000-$35,000 a year, which is a percentage and a range, not a band.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Albion College.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Albion?
Albion College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Albion test-optional?
Test-optional, and Albion states the strong form of it: scores are not evaluated at all unless a student chooses to send them, in which case the Office of Admission will consider the score for admission. Nothing on the scholarship page connects a score to a dollar figure. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every row of Albion's merit table is published against a GPA Range, the word ACT does not appear on the scholarship page, and the admission policy says Albion forgoes evaluating entrance exams. Albion publishes no sentence addressing test scores for scholarships specifically, so the quote recorded here is the table's own framing sentence from the Scholarships page, which names academic achievement and automatic consideration and no score. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Albion?
On Albion's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Webster Scholarship at $16,000 a year, about $64,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Albion superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and at Albion the question does not arise. The word 'superscore' appears on neither the scholarship page, the financial aid pages nor the first-year admission page — and since the merit table has no score axis at all, no combination of sittings changes the award.
When are Albion scholarship deadlines?
FAFSA filing begins for fall semester: October 1. Early Decision application deadline (binding; merit notification comes with the admission offer): November 1. Scholarship notifications begin: November 1. Financial aid notifications sent to entering first-year students: Mid-November. Early Action application deadline for fall semester: December 1. FAFSA encouraged for Early Action applicants: December 1. FAFSA recommended deadline (admission page): February 1. Recommended FAFSA filing deadline (financial aid page): March 1. Admission application deadline for scholarship priority: March 1. FAFSA filing deadline for Michigan residents to potentially qualify for State funding: May 1. Candidate reply date; deposit day for incoming first-years: May 1. Deadline for completing financial aid requirements so aid is on the account before the fall payment is due: August 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Albion scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Albion College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Albion awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Albion is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Albion College