West Virginia State University: merit scholarships by GPA
West Virginia State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $6,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Every figure is a ceiling, not an award: WVSU describes this as a last-dollar scholarship covering only what other federal, state, institutional and outside aid does not, so a student with a PROMISE or Pell award may receive much less or nothing. The published tiers also leave holes at 3.41–3.49 and 3.71–3.79 and stop at a 4.00, so each is read here as a floor. A FAFSA by June 30 is required, and the amount changes with both residency and whether the student lives on campus.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2
Up to $3,300 a year / year
About $13,200 over four years, if it renews.
WVSU awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published WVSU merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from West Virginia State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
West Virginia residents living on campus
The larger in-state column. Fall and spring only — summers are excluded.
Up to $5,000 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 3
No score needed
Up to $3,300 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2
No score needed
Up to $2,200 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 1
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 3 | — | Up to $5,000 a year |
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2 | — | Up to $3,300 a year |
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 1 | — | Up to $2,200 a year |
Source: Yellow Jacket Scholarship · verified 2026-10-24
West Virginia residents living off campus
Roughly half the on-campus figures at every tier.
Up to $3,000 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 3
No score needed
Up to $2,200 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2
No score needed
Up to $1,100 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 1
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 3 | — | Up to $3,000 a year |
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2 | — | Up to $2,200 a year |
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 1 | — | Up to $1,100 a year |
Source: Yellow Jacket Scholarship · verified 2026-10-24
Non-resident and international students living on campus
The largest column on the page.
Up to $6,000 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 3
No score needed
Up to $4,500 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2
No score needed
Up to $3,000 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 1
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 3 | — | Up to $6,000 a year |
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2 | — | Up to $4,500 a year |
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 1 | — | Up to $3,000 a year |
Source: Yellow Jacket Scholarship · verified 2026-10-24
Non-resident and international students living off campus
Smaller than the on-campus non-resident column at every tier.
Up to $4,000 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 3
No score needed
Up to $3,000 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2
No score needed
Up to $2,000 a year
Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 1
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 3 | — | Up to $4,000 a year |
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2 | — | Up to $3,000 a year |
| Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 1 | — | Up to $2,000 a year |
Source: Yellow Jacket Scholarship · verified 2026-10-24
Does WVSU superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter — the grid reads no score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask WVSU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
WVSU scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| FAFSA | June 30 |
| Full-time registration | June 30 |
| All requirements | By the fall semester tuition due date |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from West Virginia State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Living on campus is worth almost double: an in-state 3.8 is $5,000 a year on campus and $3,000 off it.
- The same 3.8 ranges from $3,000 to $6,000 across WVSU's four columns.
- It is a last-dollar award, so other aid reduces it and every figure here is a ceiling.
- A FAFSA is required both to receive and to renew the award.
- No column reads an ACT score.
- WVSU's published tiers leave 3.41–3.49 and 3.71–3.79 between rows; they are read as floors here.
- Summers are excluded from both the award and the credit-hour count.
- The award is stated to be limited to US citizens and eligible non-citizens, which sits oddly beside the published international columns.
- Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated.
- PROMISE, at $5,500 a year for a 3.0 and a 21, is a West Virginia state award rather than WVSU's, so it is not a band here.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with West Virginia State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at WVSU?
West Virginia State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is WVSU test-optional?
WVSU admits on a 3.0 GPA alone, or on a 2.0 GPA with an 18 composite — so a score is needed only by applicants below a 3.0. For merit aid the answer is different: no column names a score. The only numbers that move this award are the GPA, the residency and the housing choice. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at WVSU?
On WVSU's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for West Virginia residents living on campus — Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2 at $3,300 a year, about $13,200 over four years if it renews; West Virginia residents living off campus — Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2 at $2,200 a year, about $8,800 over four years if it renews; Non-resident and international students living on campus — Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2 at $4,500 a year, about $18,000 over four years if it renews; Non-resident and international students living off campus — Yellow Jacket Scholarship Tier 2 at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at WVSU?
Yes. WVSU publishes separate grids: West Virginia residents living on campus run $2,200 to $5,000 a year, and Non-resident and international students living on campus run $3,000 to $6,000 — a difference of $1,000 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does WVSU superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter — the grid reads no score.
When are WVSU scholarship deadlines?
FAFSA: June 30. Full-time registration: June 30. All requirements: By the fall semester tuition due date. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this WVSU scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from West Virginia State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
WVSU awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though WVSU is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with West Virginia State University