Concord University: merit scholarships by GPA
Concord University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $8,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Concord publishes a third, smaller table for Virginia students, who pay in-state tuition from Fall 2026, but prints it only partially — so it is not carried here. The page also never uses the word automatic; it says applicants are reviewed for academic scholarships during admission, with awards noted in yearly amounts. Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Tier 3 award
$4,000 a year / year
About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.
Concord awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Concord merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Concord University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Non-residents
A much steeper ladder than the in-state one — the gap over a West Virginia student widens from $500 at a 3.0 to $4,500 at a 3.9.
$8,000 a year
Joseph Marsh Scholarship
No score needed
$6,500 a year
Tier 2 award
No score needed
$4,000 a year
Tier 3 award
No score needed
$3,500 a year
Tier 4 award
No score needed
$2,000 a year
Maroon & Gray Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Joseph Marsh Scholarship | — | $8,000 a year |
| Tier 2 award | — | $6,500 a year |
| Tier 3 award | — | $4,000 a year |
| Tier 4 award | — | $3,500 a year |
| Maroon & Gray Scholarship | — | $2,000 a year |
Source: Scholarships and programs · verified 2026-10-24
West Virginia residents
Five named tiers from a 3.0 up. Renewal needs a 2.5 GPA and 24 earned credit hours at every tier.
$3,500 a year
Joseph Marsh Scholarship
No score needed
$3,000 a year
Board of Governors Scholarship
No score needed
$2,500 a year
Academic Excellence Scholarship
No score needed
$2,000 a year
Academic Achievement Scholarship
No score needed
$1,500 a year
Maroon & Gray Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Joseph Marsh Scholarship | — | $3,500 a year |
| Board of Governors Scholarship | — | $3,000 a year |
| Academic Excellence Scholarship | — | $2,500 a year |
| Academic Achievement Scholarship | — | $2,000 a year |
| Maroon & Gray Scholarship | — | $1,500 a year |
Source: Scholarships and programs · verified 2026-10-24
Does Concord superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and the published tiers read no score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Concord’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Concord University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- A 3.9 is worth $3,500 a year in state and $8,000 out of state.
- The out-of-state advantage widens with the GPA — $500 at a 3.0, $4,500 at a 3.9.
- Below a 3.0 Concord publishes no award on either ladder.
- No published tier reads an ACT score.
- The competitive Scholars of Distinction awards do use the ACT — a 30 with a 3.75 for tuition, room and board, or a 26 with a 3.5 for tuition plus $6,000 — but they need an application, so they are not bands here.
- Renewal is the same at every tier: a 2.5 GPA and 24 credit hours.
- Virginia students pay in-state tuition from Fall 2026 and have a separate, smaller table that Concord prints only partially.
- Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Concord University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Concord?
Concord University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Concord test-optional?
Concord admits on a 3.0 GPA alone, or on a 2.0 with an 18 composite — so a score is needed only below a 3.0. For merit aid the answer is different: the five tiers are GPA alone. A score matters only for the competitive Scholars of Distinction awards, which ask for a 30 with a 3.75 for tuition plus room and board, or a 26 with a 3.5. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Concord?
On Concord's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Non-residents — Tier 3 award at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews; West Virginia residents — Academic Excellence Scholarship at $2,500 a year, about $10,000 over four years if it renews.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at Concord?
Yes. Concord publishes separate grids: West Virginia residents run $1,500 to $3,500 a year, and Non-residents run $2,000 to $8,000 — a difference of $4,500 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does Concord superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and the published tiers read no score.
Is this Concord scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Concord University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Concord awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Concord is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Concord University