University of Southern Indiana: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritEvansville, IN

University of Southern Indiana awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.75 GPA and reach $9,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

This grid is for NON-RESIDENTS. USI publishes no thresholds for its Indiana residents — the Rice Scholarship for Indiana and qualifying Kentucky and Illinois counties is given only as a range of $1,000 to $4,000 a year — so an in-state student cannot use these figures. The top award is a tuition differential rather than a fixed amount, so its dollar value moves with the tuition rate.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Out-of-State Merit Scholarship

Award pays the difference between resident and non-resident tuition

USI awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published USI merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Southern Indiana’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Students from other states

Awarded automatically on the admission application credentials. Indiana residents and students from qualifying Kentucky and Illinois counties are covered by the Rice Scholarship instead, which publishes no thresholds.

  • Award pays the difference between resident and non-resident tuition

    Out-of-State Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $9,000 a year as a tuition discount

    Out-of-State Grant

    No score needed

Source: Freshman scholarships for students from other states · verified 2026-10-24

Does USI superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not move this grid, whose thresholds are GPA only.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask USI’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Southern Indiana’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The published thresholds are for non-residents. Indiana residents receive the Rice Scholarship, which USI publishes only as a range of $1,000 to $4,000 a year with no criteria.
  • A 3.50 GPA out of state pays the entire resident-to-non-resident tuition difference, which is far larger than the $9,000 grant beneath it.
  • Because that top award is a differential, its value changes with the tuition rate rather than being a fixed figure.
  • USI states that test-optional applicants remain eligible for merit scholarships.
  • The Presidential and B/MD awards do require scores, and are competitive, so neither is a band here.
  • Neither page prints an entry year for the grid.
  • The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted or unweighted.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Southern Indiana.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at USI?

University of Southern Indiana publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is USI test-optional?

USI lets applicants choose whether to submit an ACT or SAT score for consideration. For merit aid the answer is different: uSI states that applicants without test scores can still be considered for merit-based scholarships, and both out-of-state thresholds are GPA. Scores are required for its Presidential and B/MD awards, which are competitive rather than part of this grid, so a score cannot move the money shown here. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does USI superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not move this grid, whose thresholds are GPA only.

Is this USI scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Southern Indiana's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

USI awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though USI is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Southern Indiana