Newman University: merit scholarships by GPA
Newman University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.0 GPA and reach $25,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Newman awards academic money on a self-reported GPA with no test score involved, so an ACT cannot change these figures. Only two bands are actually priced: $20,000 at a 3.90+ and $18,000 at a 3.75–3.89. Below a 3.75 Newman publishes a range — '$13,000 - $16,000/year' — with no bands inside it, so this grid is silent there rather than guessing. Newman's own pages also disagree about several amounts (its scholarship index lists the Catholic Promise and Catholic Leaders grants at $16,000 while both award pages say $2,000), and every dated page is still showing the closed Fall 2026 cycle.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
No automatic award at this combination
A 29 with a 3.60 GPA does not reach the published grid under Standard four-year degree. That is not a verdict on admission — only on automatic merit.
Newman awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Newman merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Newman University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Standard four-year degree
Awarded automatically at acceptance off a self-reported GPA — no transcript, no separate application. Newman prices only the top two bands; a GPA below 3.75 falls into an unbanded '$13,000 - $16,000/year' range that this grid will not guess at. The Honors Program Grant ($1,000 at a 3.80+), the Catholic Promise Grant and the Catholic Leaders of Tomorrow Grant stack on top of these figures rather than replacing them.
$20,000 per year
Monsignor McNeill Scholarship
No score needed
$18,000 per year
ASC Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Monsignor McNeill Scholarship | — | $20,000 per year |
| ASC Scholarship | — | $18,000 per year |
Competitive awards — not automatic
Meeting these makes you eligible to be reviewed, not to receive the award, so they are kept out of the calculator above.
- St. Newman Full-Tuition Scholarship — : Full tuition
Source: Academic Scholarships for First-Time Students — how the awards are made · verified 2026-10-23
Pathmaker three-year degree
A genuine alternative rather than extra money: Pathmaker compresses the bachelor's degree into three years with required Spring, Summer and Fall coursework every year, and the scholarship renews for 6 semesters instead of 10. Newman blocks it against its Catholic grants and the St. Newman award, and it is not available to students majoring in Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Radiologic Technology or Respiratory Care. Newman does not use its 'automatically awarded at the time of acceptance' phrasing here the way it does for McNeill and ASC, but the published eligibility is a 2.00+ GPA and opting in on the application, with no committee and no stated cap.
$25,000 per year
Pathmaker Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Pathmaker Scholarship | — | $25,000 per year |
Source: Pathmaker Scholarship — $25,000 a year on the three-year degree path · verified 2026-10-23
Does Newman superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and structurally moot. The word 'superscore' does not appear on any of Newman's scholarship pages, and since the awards are keyed to a self-reported GPA there is no score for a superscore to improve. The ACT matters at Newman only as an 18-composite alternative to a 2.00 GPA for admission.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Newman’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Newman scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| St. Newman Full-Tuition Scholarship — initial application deadline (Fall 2026 cycle, expired) | Monday, January 5, 2026 |
| St. Newman Full-Tuition Scholarship — extended final deadline (Fall 2026 cycle, expired) | Monday, January 19, 2026 |
| Honors Program Grant application — final deadline for Fall 2026 | August 1, 2026 |
| Honors Program commitment and non-refundable enrollment deposit | May 1, 2026 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Newman University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Monsignor McNeill Scholarship — $20,000 a year at a 3.90+ GPAverified 2026-10-23
- ASC Scholarship — $18,000 a year at a 3.75–3.89 GPAverified 2026-10-23
- Pathmaker Scholarship — $25,000 a year on the three-year degree pathverified 2026-10-23
- St. Newman Full-Tuition Scholarship — five awards, interview and essayverified 2026-10-23
- Academic Scholarships for First-Time Students — how the awards are madeverified 2026-10-23
- First-Time Student Scholarships — the published index of awardsverified 2026-10-23
- Honors Program Grant — $1,000 a year at a 3.80+ GPAverified 2026-10-23
- The community-service requirement is the real cost of the top bands: 32 hours a semester to keep McNeill, 40 hours a semester to keep ASC. Most renewal clauses in this dataset are a GPA and a credit-hour count; these add unpaid hours.
- Nothing below a 3.75 GPA is priced. Newman publishes only '$13,000 - $16,000/year' for its remaining Academic Scholarships, with no bands inside the range, so a 3.5 GPA has no lookup here. Ask Newman directly rather than assuming the bottom of the range.
- Newman's own pages disagree on amounts. The First-Time Student Scholarships index lists '$16,000 - Catholic Promise Grant' and '$16,000 - Catholic Leaders of Tomorrow Grant', while both award pages say $2,000 a year, and the Spanish version of each page says '$16,000 por año' against a '$64,000' total. The index also lists the academic range as '$13,000 - $16,000' where the top-level scholarships page says '$13,000 - $18,000'. Treat every unpriced figure here as needing confirmation.
- The Catholic Promise Grant ($2,000 a year, for graduates of a Catholic high school) and the Catholic Leaders of Tomorrow Grant ($2,000 a year, requiring a nomination from a parish priest) are additive, not alternatives — both are 'Stackable with most scholarships and awards, with the exception of the Pathmaker Scholarship and St. Newman Scholarship.'
- A ceiling caps the whole stack: 'No combination of awards may exceed cost of tuition.'
- The Honors Program Grant is $1,000 a year and is itself automatic at a 3.80+ GPA for first-time students, but it does not displace the academic band — it adds to it. Confirming it needs an extra step: the student must attend an Honors event and deposit by May 1.
- The St. Newman Full-Tuition Scholarship is not a lookup. Only five are awarded, it requires a photo, a résumé, a committee interview and a timed essay on a named Interview Day, recipients must live on campus, and it 'replaces any previously-awarded merit scholarship and may only be stackable with Athletics.' It is in the grid as a non-automatic row and is excluded from the lookup.
- Transfer students read a different ladder — '$10,000 - $17,000/year', renewable for 3 years / 6 semesters — awarded off an official transcript rather than a self-report. Those are ranges, so they are not banded here.
- All institutional money requires full-time, flat-rate enrollment: 'In order to receive any institutional Newman University scholarships or grants, students must enroll as a full-time, flat-rate student.'
- The Kansas Comprehensive Grant and the Kansas State Scholarship are Kansas Board of Regents money rather than Newman money, and are kept out of this grid.
- Every dated page on the site still shows the Fall 2026 cycle — 'The application for Fall 2026 is closed' — while Newman's financial aid page already points at the 2027-2028 FAFSA. The dollar figures are undated; the deadlines above are last cycle's and will move.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Newman University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Newman?
Newman University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Newman test-optional?
Optional, and the GPA route alone clears the bar: a 2.00 cumulative GPA *or* an 18 composite is enough for automatic admission. Newman labels the score path '(test optional)' on the same line. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Newman awards its academic scholarships off a self-reported GPA at the moment of acceptance and never names a score as a scholarship criterion — the ACT appears on the scholarship pages only as the alternative admission route. The two priced bands, McNeill and ASC, list 'Cumulative 3.90+ GPA' and 'Cumulative 3.75-3.89 GPA' as their entire eligibility. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Newman?
On Newman's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Pathmaker three-year degree — Pathmaker Scholarship at $25,000 a year, about $100,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Newman superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and structurally moot. The word 'superscore' does not appear on any of Newman's scholarship pages, and since the awards are keyed to a self-reported GPA there is no score for a superscore to improve. The ACT matters at Newman only as an 18-composite alternative to a 2.00 GPA for admission.
When are Newman scholarship deadlines?
St. Newman Full-Tuition Scholarship — initial application deadline (Fall 2026 cycle, expired): Monday, January 5, 2026. St. Newman Full-Tuition Scholarship — extended final deadline (Fall 2026 cycle, expired): Monday, January 19, 2026. Honors Program Grant application — final deadline for Fall 2026: August 1, 2026. Honors Program commitment and non-refundable enrollment deposit: May 1, 2026. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Newman scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Newman University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Newman awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Newman is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Newman University