Baker University: merit scholarships by GPA
Baker University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.0 GPA and reach $16,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Baker's freshman merit table has no test column at all — the only criterion is 'Required GPA', so an ACT score cannot change this money. A score can still be required for ADMISSION: Baker asks for one only when the GPA is under 2.5. Every GPA figure in the table is a floor ('3.7+'), not a window, so a 4.0 lands on the top row. Baker's other two automatic awards — the Impact Scholarship and Baker 105 — publish no figure tied to a threshold, so neither appears in the grid.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Baker Scholar
$14,000 per year / year
About $56,000 over four years, if it renews.
Baker awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Baker merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Baker University’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Merit Scholarships (first-year and transfer)
Awarded on admission with no separate application. Transfer students read the same table against a cumulative transfer GPA set by the Baker registrar at the time of enrollment. The Impact Scholarship, Campus Visit Grant, Out of State Grant and SAGE award stack on top of these figures rather than replacing them.
$16,000 per year
Honors
No score needed
$14,000 per year
Baker Scholar
No score needed
$13,000 per year
Academic Merit
No score needed
$12,000 per year
Wildcat Scholar
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Honors | — | $16,000 per year |
| Baker Scholar | — | $14,000 per year |
| Academic Merit | — | $13,000 per year |
| Wildcat Scholar | — | $12,000 per year |
Source: Scholarships for Campus Students (Baldwin City) — First-Year & Transfer Scholarships, 2027-28 · verified 2026-10-23
Does Baker superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it could not matter much here: the word 'superscore' appears on neither Baker's scholarship page nor its campus-admissions page, and the merit table does not read a score in the first place. The only place a score can act at Baker is the under-2.5-GPA admission requirement.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Baker’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Baker scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Academic Scholarship Competition submission (Harter and Lake awards) | December 1, 2026 |
| Financial aid packaging and Baker 105 awarding begins | December 1 |
| Priority deadline to apply and file the FAFSA for Baker 105 consideration | January 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Baker University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Scholarships for Campus Students (Baldwin City) — First-Year & Transfer Scholarships, 2027-28verified 2026-10-23
- Campus Admissions — application steps and test requirementverified 2026-10-23
- Baker states that the money runs out: 'We strive to provide financial assistance to as many students as possible. Early action is important. Applications will be accepted until funds are exhausted.' Meeting a GPA floor late in the cycle is not the same as meeting it early.
- The Impact Scholarship is automatic but unpriced — 'If your answers show real experience and real intent, your Impact Scholarship is awarded automatically, with amounts that vary.' It stacks on the merit table; because no figure is published it is not a band here.
- Baker 105 is a full-tuition award — 'covering whatever tuition remains after your financial aid package is applied' — for at least one first-year Kansas resident from each of Kansas's 105 counties. There is no separate application, but recipients 'are selected from qualified applicants in each county', so it is a selection rather than a lookup.
- The stacking rules split in two. Campus Visit Grant ($1,000), Out of State Grant ($2,000 a year) and SAGE Scholars ($1,000 a year) combine with the Academic Merit scholarships but NOT with athletic scholarships. Alumni Legacy ($1,000 a year), ROTC ($2,000 a year), KC Scholars ($1,000 a year), endowed scholarships ($750–$3,000) and the Bishop Quayle Award can be added to either.
- The Bishop Quayle Award is a church match: '$300 per semester, maximum award of $600 per year', and 'Baker will match your church's contribution from an established scholarship fund.' The church 'does not have to be United Methodist'. It is additive, so it belongs here rather than in the grid.
- The two competition awards are the largest money on the page and are not automatic: the Harter Scholarship is 'Full tuition for four years' and the Ada Hopkins Lake Endowed Scholarship covers 'Full tuition, fees, on-campus housing, meals, and books for four years'. Baker notes that 'Competition for Harter awards is held annually. The Lake scholarship is awarded in alternating years', and eligible students are notified in the acceptance packet.
- Varsity athletes are packaged differently: 'Athletic awarding is done on a case-by-case basis', coaches negotiate it, and all prospective athletes must file a FAFSA. The table above is not the athlete's path.
- The Kansas Comprehensive Grant and the Kansas State Scholarship are Kansas Board of Regents money, not Baker money. Neither appears in Baker's institutional table and neither is in this grid.
- To be awarded any academic scholarship a student must be 'admitted to the College of Arts and Sciences or a School of Education undergraduate program' — the online and nursing programs run on separate tuition and aid pages.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Baker University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Baker?
Baker University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Baker test-optional?
Conditional on GPA, which is unusual — most schools in this dataset are either flatly optional or flatly required. Baker asks for a score only from applicants below a 2.5 GPA, and treats it as optional at or above one. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. The merit table's columns are Scholarship, Amount per Year, Required GPA and Renewal Cumulative GPA — there is no score column, and no footnote offering a higher award for a score. Nothing on the scholarships page mentions the ACT or the SAT at all. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Baker?
On Baker's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Baker Scholar at $14,000 a year, about $56,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Baker superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it could not matter much here: the word 'superscore' appears on neither Baker's scholarship page nor its campus-admissions page, and the merit table does not read a score in the first place. The only place a score can act at Baker is the under-2.5-GPA admission requirement.
When are Baker scholarship deadlines?
Academic Scholarship Competition submission (Harter and Lake awards): December 1, 2026. Financial aid packaging and Baker 105 awarding begins: December 1. Priority deadline to apply and file the FAFSA for Baker 105 consideration: January 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Baker scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Baker University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Baker awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Baker is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Baker University