Adelphi University: merit scholarships and what the school publishes

Verified Oct 25, 2026Current cycleHolistic reviewGarden City, NY

Adelphi University publishes merit aid criteria as published criteria. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Adelphi publishes one range, $15,000 to $40,000 a year, covering all three named awards, with no GPA or score threshold for any of them — a $25,000 spread on unstated criteria. Full-time enrolment of at least 12 credits is required. The talent awards of $18,500 to $43,500 need an audition or portfolio and a declared major in that area, so they are competitive. A third-party site quotes $12,000 to $35,000, which conflicts with Adelphi's own page and is not used.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

High School Achievement, Deans or Presidential Award

$15,000-$40,000 per year

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Adelphi merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Adelphi University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Academic merit-based scholarships

Automatic on acceptance with no separate application. Three named awards share one published range.

  • $15,000-$40,000 per year

    High School Achievement, Deans or Presidential Award

    No score needed

Source: Undergraduate institutional and merit awards · verified 2026-10-25

Does Adelphi superscore for scholarships?

Not stated for merit, and Adelphi's Early Assurance programmes explicitly refuse a superscore, so a single sitting must carry the weight there.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Adelphi’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Adelphi University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • One range, $15,000 to $40,000 a year, covers all three named awards.
  • That $25,000 spread is larger than the whole award at most schools in this dataset.
  • No GPA or score threshold is published for any tier.
  • Consideration is automatic on acceptance with no separate application.
  • Withholding a score does not cost merit consideration.
  • Adelphi's Early Assurance programmes refuse a superscore, so one sitting has to carry the weight there.
  • The minimum GPA requirements for renewal were removed; satisfactory progress is enough.
  • Full-time enrolment of at least 12 credits is required.
  • Talent awards pay $18,500 to $43,500 but need an audition or portfolio and a matching major.
  • The Adelphi Advantage and alumni awards are about $1,000 a year and are not merit-based.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Adelphi University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Adelphi?

Adelphi University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Adelphi test-optional?

No score is required to apply. For merit aid the answer is different: withholding a score costs nothing for merit. Adelphi does read "standardized testing (if submitted)" as one input, with no published threshold. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does Adelphi superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated for merit, and Adelphi's Early Assurance programmes explicitly refuse a superscore, so a single sitting must carry the weight there.

Is this Adelphi scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Adelphi University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Adelphi. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Adelphi University