Alfred University: merit scholarships by GPA
Alfred University publishes merit aid criteria as a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.1 GPA and reach $28,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Alfred publishes exact GPA windows with amounts, but says most awards follow an admissions review of GPA, course rigor, optional test scores, leadership, service, talent and activities — so the thresholds are published and the guarantee is not. Which column applies depends on the major: New York residents in the SUNY-supported Art & Design and engineering programs receive the lower figures. The top rung is printed as exactly 4.0 and is carried open here so a weighted transcript still clears it.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Jonathan Allen Scholarship
$21,000 a year / year
About $84,000 over four years, if it renews.
Alfred awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Alfred merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Alfred University’s own pages for Fall 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
All majors outside the SUNY-supported programs
Alfred caps total institutional award at $33,000 a year for these majors.
$28,000 a year
Presidential Scholarship
No score needed
$24,000 a year
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
$21,000 a year
Jonathan Allen Scholarship
No score needed
$19,000 a year
King Alfred Scholarship
No score needed
$16,000 a year
1836 Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | — | $28,000 a year |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | $24,000 a year |
| Jonathan Allen Scholarship | — | $21,000 a year |
| King Alfred Scholarship | — | $19,000 a year |
| 1836 Award | — | $16,000 a year |
Source: Scholarships — students enrolling in Fall 2026 · verified 2026-10-24
New York residents in SUNY-supported Art & Design and engineering
Applies to New York State students in Art & Design and in biomaterials, ceramic, glass and materials science engineering, where tuition is already state-supported. Total institutional award is capped at $21,000 a year.
$16,500 a year
Presidential Scholarship
No score needed
$13,500 a year
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
$11,500 a year
Jonathan Allen Scholarship
No score needed
$10,500 a year
King Alfred Scholarship
No score needed
$9,000 a year
1836 Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | — | $16,500 a year |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | $13,500 a year |
| Jonathan Allen Scholarship | — | $11,500 a year |
| King Alfred Scholarship | — | $10,500 a year |
| 1836 Award | — | $9,000 a year |
Source: Scholarships — students enrolling in Fall 2026 · verified 2026-10-24
Does Alfred superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. The published rungs read GPA only, so a superscore has nothing to move on the grid itself.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Alfred’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Alfred scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Early Decision (binding) | November 1 |
| Early Action | December 1 |
| Regular Decision (preferred) | February 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Alfred University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Scholarships — students enrolling in Fall 2026verified 2026-10-24
- First-year application processverified 2026-10-24
- The same GPA is worth $28,000 or $16,500 a year depending on the major and the student's home state.
- The lower column applies to New York residents in the SUNY-supported Art & Design and engineering programs, where tuition is already state-supported.
- There is no GPA floor: the 1836 Award pays $16,000 a year, or $9,000 on the SUNY-supported column, below a 3.10.
- The 3.69-to-3.70 step is worth $3,000 a year on the private column.
- Alfred prints the top rung as exactly 4.0; it is read as a floor here so a weighted transcript clears it.
- Total institutional award is capped at $33,000 a year, or $21,000 on the SUNY-supported programs.
- Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated beyond "on a 4.0 scale".
- The Alfred University Scholars Award, up to $30,000 a year, needs a nomination, so it is not a band here.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Alfred University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Alfred?
Alfred University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Alfred test-optional?
Alfred's posted test-optional statement still names the 2024-25 year and Spring and Fall 2025 applicants; no Fall 2026 restatement appears, so the policy is read as continuing but is not freshly published. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is one input among several in the review, but no rung is keyed to one — the published thresholds are GPA only, so a student with no ACT reaches every rung on grades alone. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Alfred?
On Alfred's published grid for Fall 2026 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for All majors outside the SUNY-supported programs — Jonathan Allen Scholarship at $21,000 a year, about $84,000 over four years if it renews; New York residents in SUNY-supported Art & Design and engineering — Jonathan Allen Scholarship at $11,500 a year, about $46,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Alfred superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. The published rungs read GPA only, so a superscore has nothing to move on the grid itself.
When are Alfred scholarship deadlines?
Early Decision (binding): November 1. Early Action: December 1. Regular Decision (preferred): February 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Alfred scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Alfred University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Alfred awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Alfred is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Alfred University