State University of New York at Oswego: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Fall 2027 entryACT not used for meritOswego, NY

State University of New York at Oswego awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 85.0 GPA and reach $6,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

The GPA here is a 100-POINT high school average, the way New York reports it — not a 4.0. Oswego also calls these ranges the "typical academic profile of scholarship recipients" and says they do not guarantee an award, and the scholarships require living on campus. The windows are closed integer ranges, so an average of 95.5 falls between two of them.

29
3.6

Out of 100, the way New York high schools report it — which is how this school publishes its grid.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

No automatic award at this combination

A 29 with a 3.60 GPA does not reach the published grid. That is not a verdict on admission — only on automatic merit.

SUNY Oswego awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
See where a 29 IS worth money →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published SUNY Oswego merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from State University of New York at Oswego’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

First-year merit scholarships

Keyed to the high school average out of 100, the way New York reports it. Oswego prints a four-year total alongside each annual figure, and the award requires living on campus.

  • $6,000 a year ($24,000 over four years)

    Presidential Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $4,000 a year ($16,000 over four years)

    Dean's Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $2,500 a year ($10,000 over four years)

    Merit Plus Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $750 a year ($3,000 over four years)

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: First-year and transfer scholarships — Fall 2027 grid · verified 2026-10-24

Does SUNY Oswego superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid reads no test score at all.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask SUNY Oswego’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

SUNY Oswego scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Priority scholarship consideration, fall entryJanuary 15

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from State University of New York at Oswego’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The GPA is a 100-point high school average, which is how New York reports it. A 4.0-scale number does not apply here.
  • The step from an 89 to a 90 is worth $1,750 a year — more than twice the entire bottom award.
  • The bottom rung is $750 a year, and the top is eight times it.
  • Oswego describes the ranges as the typical profile of recipients rather than thresholds, and says no single factor decides.
  • The scholarships are available to students who live on campus.
  • The windows are closed integer ranges, so a 95.5 average sits between the Dean's and Presidential bands.
  • Oswego prints a four-year total beside each annual figure: $24,000, $16,000, $10,000 and $3,000.
  • "Free Tuition Plus" cannot be combined with other Oswego first-year scholarships.
  • The table column reads "Typical High School GPA" and does not say whether it is weighted.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with State University of New York at Oswego.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at SUNY Oswego?

State University of New York at Oswego publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is SUNY Oswego test-optional?

Oswego is test-optional, and says in the same sentence that scores are not required for admission or for merit scholarship consideration. For merit aid the answer is different: no ACT figure appears anywhere in the grid, and Oswego states outright that scores are not required for merit scholarship consideration. A student with no score is considered for exactly the same award as one with a 36. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does SUNY Oswego superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid reads no test score at all.

When are SUNY Oswego scholarship deadlines?

Priority scholarship consideration, fall entry: January 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this SUNY Oswego scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from State University of New York at Oswego's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

SUNY Oswego awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though SUNY Oswego is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with State University of New York at Oswego