New Mexico Highlands University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritLas Vegas, NM

New Mexico Highlands University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $5,700 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

NMHU's admission pages say merit is read on cumulative high school GPA and ACT or SAT scores, but every published rung is GPA alone — so a score may move a student in a way the grid cannot show. The amounts go toward tuition and fees and are split unevenly between the two semesters. The out-of-state award requires living on campus, the bottom in-state award is a single fall semester, and no entry year is printed on the page.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Presidential Silver Scholarship

$4,700 a year toward tuition and fees ($3,200 then $1,500) / year

About $18,800 over four years, if it renews.

NMHU awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published NMHU merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from New Mexico Highlands University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

New Mexico residents

Renewable for up to eight semesters, completing 15 credit hours a semester at a 2.5. The lowest rung runs one fall semester and then converts to the New Mexico Legislative Lottery Scholarship.

  • $5,700 a year toward tuition and fees ($3,700 then $2,000)

    Presidential Gold Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $4,700 a year toward tuition and fees ($3,200 then $1,500)

    Presidential Silver Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $2,800 a year toward tuition and fees ($2,000 then $800)

    Dean's Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $1,000 for the fall semester only, then converts to the NM Legislative Lottery Scholarship for up to seven semesters

    Freshmen Success Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Non-residents

One award, and it requires living on campus. Runs for up to seven semesters.

  • $5,000 a year toward tuition and fees ($2,500 a semester)

    NMHU Purple and White Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does NMHU superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. Since NMHU says scores count without publishing thresholds, a student with two sittings should ask.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask NMHU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from New Mexico Highlands University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A non-resident with a 3.0 receives $5,000 a year — more than a New Mexico resident with a 3.7.
  • Only the in-state Presidential Gold at a 3.75 pays more than the out-of-state award.
  • The out-of-state award requires living on campus; the in-state ones do not.
  • The bottom in-state rung is $1,000 for one fall semester, then converts to the New Mexico Legislative Lottery Scholarship.
  • Every amount is split unevenly between the two semesters — the Dean's award is $2,000 then $800.
  • The money goes toward tuition and fees rather than other costs.
  • Renewal needs 15 credit hours a semester, above a standard full-time load.
  • NMHU says scores count toward merit but publishes no score threshold.
  • Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated, and no entry year appears on the page.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with New Mexico Highlands University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at NMHU?

New Mexico Highlands University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is NMHU test-optional?

Skipping the ACT means taking the Accuplacer instead, so the test is avoidable rather than optional in practice. For merit aid the answer is different: nMHU states that scores are used for scholarship consideration but publishes no score threshold anywhere, so nothing is claimed about how much one is worth. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at NMHU?

On NMHU's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for New Mexico residents — Presidential Silver Scholarship at $4,700 a year, about $18,800 over four years if it renews; Non-residents — NMHU Purple and White Scholarship at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.

Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at NMHU?

Yes. NMHU publishes separate grids: New Mexico residents run $2,800 to $5,700 a year, and Non-residents run $5,000 to $5,000 — a difference of $700 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.

Does NMHU superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. Since NMHU says scores count without publishing thresholds, a student with two sittings should ask.

Is this NMHU scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from New Mexico Highlands University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

NMHU awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though NMHU is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with New Mexico Highlands University