Western New Mexico University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Western New Mexico University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 19. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Every package requires BOTH a score and a GPA — there is no score-free route to any of them, so a 4.0 with no ACT reaches nothing here. WNMU's page states deadlines but never says the awards are granted automatically, so confirm in writing. Each tuition benefit is capped at 15 to 18 credits a semester, and renewal requires at least 15 credits every fall and spring consecutively.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Silver Package
Full in-state tuition and applicable fees, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $1,500 a year toward housing
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published WNMU merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Western New Mexico University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
New Mexico residents
Each package needs a score floor and a GPA floor together. All three cover full in-state tuition and fees; the housing stipend is what separates them.
Full in-state tuition and applicable fees, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $2,000 a year toward housing
Gold Package
ACT 21–36 · 3.75+
Full in-state tuition and applicable fees, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $1,500 a year toward housing
Silver Package
ACT 20–36 · 3.50+
Full in-state tuition and applicable fees, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $1,000 a year toward housing
Copper Package
ACT 19–36 · 3.00+
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Gold Package | ACT 21–36 · 3.75+ | Full in-state tuition and applicable fees, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $2,000 a year toward housing |
| Silver Package | ACT 20–36 · 3.50+ | Full in-state tuition and applicable fees, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $1,500 a year toward housing |
| Copper Package | ACT 19–36 · 3.00+ | Full in-state tuition and applicable fees, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $1,000 a year toward housing |
Source: Incoming freshman scholarship information · verified 2026-10-24
Non-residents
The top tier needs two more ACT points than the resident equivalent. The lower two convert a non-resident to in-state tuition rates rather than covering tuition outright.
Full tuition, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $2,000 a year toward housing
Bell Tower Scholarship
ACT 23–36 · 3.75+
Qualifies for in-state tuition rates and pays half of in-state tuition, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $2,000 a year toward housing
Tree Rock Scholarship
ACT 21–36 · 3.50+
Qualifies for in-state tuition rates, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $1,000 a year toward housing
Light Hall Scholarship
ACT 19–36 · 3.00+
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Bell Tower Scholarship | ACT 23–36 · 3.75+ | Full tuition, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $2,000 a year toward housing |
| Tree Rock Scholarship | ACT 21–36 · 3.50+ | Qualifies for in-state tuition rates and pays half of in-state tuition, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $2,000 a year toward housing |
| Light Hall Scholarship | ACT 19–36 · 3.00+ | Qualifies for in-state tuition rates, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $1,000 a year toward housing |
Source: Incoming freshman scholarship information · verified 2026-10-24
Does WNMU superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. WNMU names ACT floors for every package but never says which composite it reads, so a student planning a retake should confirm in writing.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask WNMU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
WNMU scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Apply to WNMU | December 1 |
| Transcripts and ACT or SAT scores | March 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Western New Mexico University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- A score is mandatory at every tier. A 4.0 with no ACT reaches nothing here.
- Residents reach the top package at a 21; non-residents need a 23. The lower tiers are nearly identical across the two ladders.
- The non-resident middle and bottom packages convert a student to in-state tuition RATES rather than covering tuition — a different and smaller benefit than the resident packages.
- Every tuition benefit is capped at 15 to 18 credits a semester.
- Renewal requires 15 credits every fall and spring consecutively, which is heavier than most grids in this dataset.
- The housing money presumably requires living on campus, though the page does not say so.
- The page prints no entry year and does not say whether the GPA is weighted.
- WNMU's Foundation scholarships are matched through an application portal, so they are not bands here.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Western New Mexico University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at WNMU?
Automatic merit aid at Western New Mexico University starts at an ACT composite of 19, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches full in-state tuition and applicable fees, 15–18 credits per semester, plus $2,000 a year toward housing at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is WNMU test-optional?
WNMU's scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is required for every package, and it must be submitted by March 1. There is no GPA-only route at any tier, so a student who does not test reaches nothing on this grid regardless of transcript. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at WNMU?
Yes. WNMU publishes separate grids: New Mexico residents run up to full tuition a year, and Non-residents run up to full tuition. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does WNMU superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. WNMU names ACT floors for every package but never says which composite it reads, so a student planning a retake should confirm in writing.
When are WNMU scholarship deadlines?
Apply to WNMU: December 1. Transcripts and ACT or SAT scores: March 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this WNMU scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Western New Mexico University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at WNMU. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Western New Mexico University