Central Methodist University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Central Methodist University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 21 and reach $16,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
CMU's grid is an OR, not an AND: every top row reads 'GPA or ACT' — 'President's Scholarship: 3.9 GPA or 29 ACT'. Either number alone earns the award. Only the ACT route is modelled here, so this lookup UNDERSTATES what CMU would pay a student with a high GPA and a low score: a 3.9 GPA with any score at all is worth $16,000 whatever the table below returns. The two bottom rows are different — they say 'and', so the Dean's and Eagle bands carry real GPA windows. Awards are Fayette-campus and full-time only; statewide and online students are explicitly excluded.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
President's Scholarship
$16,000 / year
About $64,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Central Methodist merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Central Methodist University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Fayette campus freshmen
The ACT route through CMU's freshman grid. Each of the top four awards can equally be earned on GPA alone — a 3.9, 3.5, 3.0 or 2.75 respectively — and those routes are not in this table.
$16,000
President's Scholarship
ACT 29–36 · ACT 29 alone qualifies — CMU's row reads "3.9 GPA or 29 ACT", so a 3.9 GPA reaches the same award with no score
$14,000
University Scholarship
ACT 27–36 · ACT 27 alone qualifies — CMU's row reads "3.5 GPA or 27 ACT", so a 3.5 GPA reaches the same award with no score
$12,000
Trustee's Scholarship
ACT 24–36 · ACT 24 alone qualifies — CMU's row reads "3.0 GPA or 24 ACT", so a 3.0 GPA reaches the same award with no score
$11,000
Alumni Scholarship
ACT 22–36 · ACT 22 alone qualifies — CMU's row reads "2.75 GPA or 22 ACT", so a 2.75 GPA reaches the same award with no score
$9,000
Dean's Scholarship
ACT 21–36 · 2.50–2.74 GPA and a 21 ACT — both required on this row ("2.5-2.74 GPA and 21 ACT OR 2.5 GPA and Committee Approval")
$8,000
Eagle Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| President's Scholarship | ACT 29–36 · ACT 29 alone qualifies — CMU's row reads "3.9 GPA or 29 ACT", so a 3.9 GPA reaches the same award with no score | $16,000 |
| University Scholarship | ACT 27–36 · ACT 27 alone qualifies — CMU's row reads "3.5 GPA or 27 ACT", so a 3.5 GPA reaches the same award with no score | $14,000 |
| Trustee's Scholarship | ACT 24–36 · ACT 24 alone qualifies — CMU's row reads "3.0 GPA or 24 ACT", so a 3.0 GPA reaches the same award with no score | $12,000 |
| Alumni Scholarship | ACT 22–36 · ACT 22 alone qualifies — CMU's row reads "2.75 GPA or 22 ACT", so a 2.75 GPA reaches the same award with no score | $11,000 |
| Dean's Scholarship | ACT 21–36 · 2.50–2.74 GPA and a 21 ACT — both required on this row ("2.5-2.74 GPA and 21 ACT OR 2.5 GPA and Committee Approval") | $9,000 |
| Eagle Scholarship | — | $8,000 |
Source: CMU Scholarships — Freshmen Merit-Based Scholarships table · verified 2026-10-23
Does Central Methodist superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. The word 'superscore' appears nowhere on CMU's scholarship or admission-requirements pages, and CMU's grid is written in terms of a single composite ('29 ACT'), so whether a best-of-sittings composite counts is unanswered. Ask admissions before deciding not to retake.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Central Methodist’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Central Methodist scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Scholarship qualifications must be reported before admission | Before being admitted |
| Central Scholars Competition (invitation only, 3.5 GPA minimum) | February 20, 2027 |
| Central's Got Talent Scholarship Competition | March 16, 2027 |
| FAFSA priority deadline | February 1 |
| Access Missouri Grant priority deadline for filing the FAFSA | February 1 (Missouri residents only) |
| Access Missouri Grant final deadline | April 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Central Methodist University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- CMU Scholarships — Freshmen Merit-Based Scholarships tableverified 2026-10-23
- CMU Admission Requirementsverified 2026-10-23
- CMU Financial Assistance — Deadlinesverified 2026-10-23
- Missouri's Access Missouri Grant and Bright Flight are STATE money, not CMU money, and neither is in the grid above. Bright Flight is the one families misread: it pays on an ACT score (the top-3%-in-Missouri band) and so looks exactly like an institutional ACT award, but it is paid by the Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development, requires Missouri residency and a FAFSA, and is additional to anything CMU awards. CMU's own deadline page treats Access Missouri as a FAFSA-filing deadline (February 1 priority, April 1 final), which is a state deadline rather than a CMU one.
- The United Methodist Half-Tuition Scholarship is a denominational award — a year's active membership in good standing of a UMC congregation, verified by the pastor — and it is a REPLACEMENT, not an addition: 'The United Methodist award may not be combined with other CMU scholarships.'
- Separately, CMU participates in the United Methodist Higher Education Foundation's Dollars for Scholars church-match chain: a $1,000 church gift is matched by UMHEF, then by the school, then possibly by the conference foundation, up to $4,000. CMU warns that 'some exceptions may apply to the CMU match based on the CMU scholarship policy', and it must be applied for every year.
- Mutual exclusions are unusually broad. 'Students with half-tuition, full-tuition, or varsity scholarships are not eligible for any other institutional scholarships.' A student may combine only ONE participation scholarship with an academic scholarship, and varsity athletic scholarships combine with nothing.
- The Go Away to College Close to Home 50% tuition waiver (17 named counties, 2.75 GPA, A+ eligible) also 'may not be combined with any other CMU scholarship offer' — so for a local student it competes with the grid above rather than adding to it.
- Changes must be front-loaded: 'Any scholarship changes or additions need to be made prior to initial awarding. Students must notify admissions, prior to being admitted, of any scholarship qualifications.' A score that arrives after the award letter may not move the award.
- Living off campus caps total institutional aid at full tuition, general fees, up to $1,000 for books and a meal plan allowance — so off-campus students can hit a ceiling the grid does not show.
- The full-tuition competition awards (up to two Eagle Select, one Pre-Health Scholars, one Valedictorian) require living on campus and come out of the invitation-only Central Scholars Competition, so they are not in the grid.
- Legacy and Sibling Grants are each $1,000 and stack with the academic award, but not with each other.
- CMU's transfer table reuses four of the same award names (University, Trustee's, Alumni, Dean's) at different GPA floors and different dollar amounts, and uses no test score at all. Do not read the freshman figures as transfer figures.
- CMU is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Central Methodist University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Central Methodist?
Automatic merit aid at Central Methodist University starts at an ACT composite of 21, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $16,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Central Methodist test-optional?
A score is only needed below a 2.75 GPA. CMU admits on a 2.75 GPA with a college-preparatory curriculum alone; between 2.50 and 2.74 it wants a 21 ACT or committee approval, and below 2.50 it wants committee approval. CMU's freshman checklist nonetheless lists ACT or SAT scores among the documents to send. For merit aid the answer is different: optional in the strict sense: every one of the four main merit rows can be reached on GPA alone, so a student with no score is not shut out. But a score is the better route for anyone whose GPA sits below the row they want — a 29 is worth $16,000 to a student with a 3.2 GPA who would otherwise be on the $12,000 row. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Central Methodist?
On Central Methodist's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for President's Scholarship at $16,000 a year, about $64,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Central Methodist?
The most valuable single point on Central Methodist's published grid is 21 to 22, at a GPA of act 22 alone qualifies — cmu's row reads "2.75 gpa or 22 act", so a 2.75 gpa reaches the same award with no score: it moves the award by $3,000 a year, or $12,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does Central Methodist superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. The word 'superscore' appears nowhere on CMU's scholarship or admission-requirements pages, and CMU's grid is written in terms of a single composite ('29 ACT'), so whether a best-of-sittings composite counts is unanswered. Ask admissions before deciding not to retake.
When are Central Methodist scholarship deadlines?
Scholarship qualifications must be reported before admission: Before being admitted. Central Scholars Competition (invitation only, 3.5 GPA minimum): February 20, 2027. Central's Got Talent Scholarship Competition: March 16, 2027. FAFSA priority deadline: February 1. Access Missouri Grant priority deadline for filing the FAFSA: February 1 (Missouri residents only). Access Missouri Grant final deadline: April 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Central Methodist scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Central Methodist University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Central Methodist. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Central Methodist University