Webster University: merit scholarships by GPA
Webster University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $22,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Webster states that a test score "may increase scholarship eligibility" but publishes no score thresholds, so there is nothing to look an ACT up against. The grid here is the published GPA ladder. A student with a strong score should ask admissions directly what it adds.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Gorlok Gold
$18,000 a year / year
About $72,000 over four years, if it renews.
Webster awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Webster merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Webster University’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Webster Academic Scholarship
Awarded automatically on admission with no separate application, and students are notified within fourteen days of being admitted.
$22,000 a year
Webster Gold
No score needed
$20,000 a year
Webster Blue
No score needed
$18,000 a year
Gorlok Gold
No score needed
$16,000 a year
Gorlok Blue
No score needed
$14,000 a year
Webster Thrive
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Webster Gold | — | $22,000 a year |
| Webster Blue | — | $20,000 a year |
| Gorlok Gold | — | $18,000 a year |
| Gorlok Blue | — | $16,000 a year |
| Webster Thrive | — | $14,000 a year |
Source: Scholarships — Webster Academic Scholarship grid · verified 2026-10-24
Does Webster superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. Webster publishes no scholarship score thresholds at all, so there is no stated composite for a superscore to apply to.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Webster’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Webster scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| President's Scholarship (competitive) — application | January 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Webster University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Scholarships — Webster Academic Scholarship gridverified 2026-10-24
- First-year admission — test policyverified 2026-10-24
- Every published rung is GPA-only. Webster says a score may add money but names no figure and no threshold.
- The amounts are explicitly for students beginning in 2027-28, so this grid is current rather than a prior cycle.
- A separate automatic Bordering State Tuition Grant pays $1,000 a year to freshmen from Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Tennessee, Arkansas and Oklahoma who enrol at the Webster Groves campus for thirteen or more credits a semester. Webster does not say whether it stacks with the academic award.
- The President's Scholarship (full tuition, 3.75+ GPA) needs an application, essays and recommendations, so it is not on this grid.
- WESTbound is published as "up to $15,000" and is restricted to STEM and Education majors.
- The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted or unweighted.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Webster University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Webster?
Webster University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Webster test-optional?
First-year applicants may choose a test-optional application. Home-schooled students and students from schools issuing narrative evaluations must submit scores. For merit aid the answer is different: webster says a score may increase scholarship eligibility but publishes no thresholds, so a score cannot be looked up against this grid. Every published rung is keyed to GPA alone, and a student with no score still reaches the $22,000 top rung at a 4.0. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Webster?
On Webster's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Gorlok Gold at $18,000 a year, about $72,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Webster superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. Webster publishes no scholarship score thresholds at all, so there is no stated composite for a superscore to apply to.
When are Webster scholarship deadlines?
President's Scholarship (competitive) — application: January 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Webster scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Webster University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Webster awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Webster is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Webster University