University of Wisconsin–Whitewater: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Fall 2026 entryACT not used for meritWhitewater, WI

University of Wisconsin–Whitewater awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $6,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

This grid is for NON-RESIDENTS only. UW-Whitewater publishes no thresholds or amounts for Wisconsin residents, describing their merit awards as competitive and awarded through a pooled process — so a Wisconsin student cannot use these figures.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Nonresident Merit Scholarship

$4,000 / year

About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.

UW-Whitewater awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published UW-Whitewater merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Wisconsin–Whitewater’s own pages for Fall 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Non-residents

Keyed to unweighted high school GPA and awarded at admission. Wisconsin residents are not covered by this grid.

  • $6,000/Midwest Tuition Rate

    Nonresident Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $4,000

    Nonresident Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $2,000

    Nonresident Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $1,000

    Nonresident Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does UW-Whitewater superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter for this award. The non-resident grid uses no test score at all, so there is nothing for a superscore to improve.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UW-Whitewater’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Wisconsin–Whitewater’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The grid is for non-residents only. Wisconsin residents are told their merit awards are competitive and awarded through a pooled process, with no published thresholds or amounts.
  • The top rung is published as "$6,000/Midwest Tuition Rate" — the award or the reduced regional rate — so it keeps the school's wording rather than being reduced to one figure.
  • The GPA is unweighted, which is lower than the weighted GPA most high schools report.
  • This is one of the few grids in the dataset that pays anything below a 3.00 GPA — $1,000 a year from a 2.50.
  • Renewal needs only a 2.5 cumulative GPA, which is unusually forgiving.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Wisconsin–Whitewater.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UW-Whitewater?

University of Wisconsin–Whitewater publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is UW-Whitewater test-optional?

The scholarship page does not state an admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: the non-resident grid is keyed to unweighted high school GPA alone. No rung names a test score, so an ACT cannot move this award. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UW-Whitewater?

On UW-Whitewater's published grid for Fall 2026 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Nonresident Merit Scholarship at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews.

Does UW-Whitewater superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter for this award. The non-resident grid uses no test score at all, so there is nothing for a superscore to improve.

Is this UW-Whitewater scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Wisconsin–Whitewater's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

UW-Whitewater awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though UW-Whitewater is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Wisconsin–Whitewater