The College of Idaho: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritCaldwell, ID

The College of Idaho awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $19,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

The GPA is WEIGHTED cumulative, so these thresholds are read against an inflated number rather than an unweighted transcript. Freshmen also receive a separate $3,000 on-campus residency grant tied to the housing requirement rather than to any GPA, so a resident freshman's real total is $3,000 above every figure here. The page never states that the award needs no application.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Trustee Scholar

$17,000 a year / year

About $68,000 over four years, if it renews.

College of Idaho awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published College of Idaho merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from The College of Idaho’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Merit scholarships

Awarded to new freshmen on weighted cumulative GPA. The bottom rung has no floor, so every admitted student reaches one.

  • $19,000 a year

    Presidential Scholar

    No score needed

  • $17,000 a year

    Trustee Scholar

    No score needed

  • $15,000 a year

    Deans Scholar

    No score needed

  • $14,000 a year

    Boone Scholar

    No score needed

  • $10,000 a year

    Coyote Scholar

    No score needed

Source: Merit-based and need-based scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does College of Idaho superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter for the current grid, which reads no test score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask College of Idaho’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from The College of Idaho’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The GPA is weighted, so the 3.80 Presidential threshold is not an unweighted 3.80.
  • The bottom rung has no floor, so admission is the only gate and the whole ladder spans $9,000 a year.
  • The steepest step is 2.99 to 3.00, worth $4,000 a year.
  • Above a 3.00 the ladder is shallow: $14,000, $15,000, $17,000, $19,000.
  • Freshmen also get a separate $3,000 on-campus residency grant, tied to housing rather than GPA, so it is not a band here.
  • The College of Idaho calls the award guaranteed on satisfactory academic progress, and in the same breath subject to change.
  • An older version of the page referenced test or test-optional index scores; the live page does not.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with The College of Idaho.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at College of Idaho?

The College of Idaho publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is College of Idaho test-optional?

The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: the current grid is keyed to weighted cumulative GPA alone and names no test, so a score cannot move it. An older version of the page mentioned test or test-optional index scores, but that wording is not on the live page and is not used here. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at College of Idaho?

On College of Idaho's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Trustee Scholar at $17,000 a year, about $68,000 over four years if it renews.

Does College of Idaho superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter for the current grid, which reads no test score.

Is this College of Idaho scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from The College of Idaho's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

College of Idaho awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though College of Idaho is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with The College of Idaho