Lewis-Clark State College: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Fall 2026 entryLewiston, ID

Lewis-Clark State College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 20 and reach $12,230 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

The ACT route exists only for IDAHO RESIDENTS — LC State's out-of-state waivers name no score, so a non-resident's score is worth nothing here. The resident GPA figures are printed as ranges so their caps are real, while the ACT figures are single numbers and are treated as floors. The out-of-state awards require meeting the March 1 priority deadline.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Provost Scholarship (ACT route)

$1,500 a year / year

About $6,000 over four years, if it renews.

What the next points are worth

1 more point (a 30) moves you to Presidential Scholarship (ACT route) — $2,500 a year a year. That is $1,000 more a year, or $4,000 over four years.

The question isn't whether a point is worth having. It's whether they can move it — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Can you get merit aid at LC State without an ACT score?

Yes. For an Idaho resident a score is a full alternative to the GPA: a 30 reaches the $2,500 Presidential tier at any GPA, a 22 the $1,500 Provost and a 20 the $1,000 Dean. For a non-resident a score is worth nothing — the out-of-state waivers are keyed to GPA alone.

Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.

“Students are automatically considered for an out-of-state scholarship/waiver by meeting the March 1 Priority Deadline”

The published LC State merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Lewis-Clark State College’s own pages for Fall 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Idaho residents

Three tiers, each reachable on a GPA range or on an ACT floor. Renewal adds $500 a year for students completing 30 credits.

  • $2,500 a year

    Presidential Scholarship (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $2,500 a year

    Presidential Scholarship (ACT route)

    ACT 30–36 · any GPA — a score alone qualifies

    Without a score: not available

  • $1,500 a year

    Provost Scholarship (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.25

  • $1,500 a year

    Provost Scholarship (ACT route)

    ACT 22–36 · any GPA — a score alone qualifies

    Without a score: not available

  • $1,000 a year

    Dean Scholarship (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

  • $1,000 a year

    Dean Scholarship (ACT route)

    ACT 20–36 · any GPA — a score alone qualifies

    Without a score: not available

Source: Idaho merit-based scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Non-residents

Written against the non-resident tuition differential, which is why the figures dwarf the resident awards. No score is used.

  • $12,230 a year

    Presidential Waiver

    No score needed

  • 150% of Idaho tuition

    WUE Waiver

    No score needed

Source: Out-of-state tuition scholarships and waivers · verified 2026-10-24

Does LC State superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. LC State names single ACT floors for its resident tiers and never addresses superscoring, so a student near one should confirm in writing.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask LC State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

LC State scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Priority deadline for the out-of-state awardsMarch 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Lewis-Clark State College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The same 3.0 transcript is worth $1,000 to an Idaho resident and $12,230 to a non-resident, because the waiver is written against the non-resident differential.
  • A score is worth a whole tier in state and nothing out of state.
  • The resident tiers top out at $2,500, which is small in absolute terms against a low in-state tuition.
  • The ACT figures are published as single numbers and are treated as floors. The GPA figures are published as ranges, so the middle caps are real — but the top band is modelled open, because as printed a weighted transcript above 4.00 would clear no resident tier at all.
  • Renewal adds $500 a year for a resident completing thirty credits in a year.
  • The WUE waiver is restricted to Western Undergraduate Exchange states and pays 150% of Idaho tuition rather than a dollar figure.
  • The out-of-state awards hinge on the March 1 priority deadline.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Lewis-Clark State College.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at LC State?

Automatic merit aid at Lewis-Clark State College starts at an ACT composite of 20, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $12,230 a year at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is LC State test-optional?

The scholarship pages do not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: for an Idaho resident a score is a full alternative to the GPA: a 30 reaches the $2,500 Presidential tier at any GPA, a 22 the $1,500 Provost and a 20 the $1,000 Dean. For a non-resident a score is worth nothing — the out-of-state waivers are keyed to GPA alone. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at LC State?

On LC State's published grid for Fall 2026 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Idaho residents — Presidential Scholarship (ACT route) at $2,500 a year, about $10,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents — Presidential Waiver at $12,230 a year, about $48,920 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at LC State?

The most valuable single point on LC State's published grid is 29 to 30, on the row where it is largest: it moves the award by $1,000 a year, or $4,000 across a four-year degree on the Idaho residents grid. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at LC State?

Yes. LC State publishes separate grids: Idaho residents run $1,000 to $2,500 a year, and Non-residents run $12,230 to full tuition. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.

Does LC State superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. LC State names single ACT floors for its resident tiers and never addresses superscoring, so a student near one should confirm in writing.

When are LC State scholarship deadlines?

Priority deadline for the out-of-state awards: March 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this LC State scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Lewis-Clark State College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at LC State. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Lewis-Clark State College