University of Idaho: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 21, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritMoscow, ID

University of Idaho awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards reach $7,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Go Idaho! is a GUARANTEED MINIMUM FUNDING LEVEL by GPA band, not a named scholarship — Idaho assembles it from institutional, donor and departmental money. The consequence is stated on Idaho's own page and is easy to miss: a departmental scholarship may REPLACE the award rather than add to it, because the promise is about the total. The GPA is unweighted. Non-resident figures are much larger but are built on the WUE tuition discount, which Idaho says is non-disbursable, so it reduces a bill and never becomes cash. The ACT appears in exactly one place: homeschooled applicants are assessed on their highest ACT or SAT instead of a GPA. Idaho does not date these pages.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Vandal Excellence

$4,000 guaranteed minimum funding / year

About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.

Idaho awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Idaho merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Idaho’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Idaho residents — Go Idaho!

No scholarship application. Idaho guarantees these as minimum annual funding levels for up to four years, drawn from whatever combination of sources it has, on an unweighted high school GPA.

  • $7,500 guaranteed minimum funding

    Vandal Pride

    No score needed · GPA 3.90

  • $5,000 guaranteed minimum funding

    Vandal Summit

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $4,000 guaranteed minimum funding

    Vandal Excellence

    No score needed · GPA 3.40

  • $1,000 guaranteed minimum funding

    Vandal Merit

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: In-state scholarships — Go Idaho! guaranteed funding · verified 2026-10-21

Non-residents — WUE Scholars

Automatic on application with no extra forms or deadlines. The base is the WUE tuition discount, worth nearly $16,000 a year, with a cash top-up by GPA band. Idaho states WUE is non-disbursable, so it reduces tuition and cannot be refunded.

  • WUE Scholars Summit Award + $3,000 additional, receives nearly $19,000

    WUE Scholars Summit Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.90

  • WUE Scholars Excellence Award + $2,000, nearly $18,000

    WUE Scholars Excellence Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • WUE Scholars Merit Award + $1,000, nearly $17,000

    WUE Scholars Merit Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

  • Nearly $16,000

    WUE base award

    No score needed · GPA 1.00

Source: Out-of-state and international scholarships — WUE and Invitation to Idaho · verified 2026-10-21

Does Idaho superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. Idaho says it uses a homeschooled applicant's HIGHEST ACT, which is a best-sitting rule rather than a superscore, and it applies to no one else.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Idaho’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Idaho’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • This is a guaranteed minimum TOTAL, not a named award, so winning a departmental scholarship can replace rather than increase it. Idaho says so explicitly.
  • The resident GPA bands are unweighted and unusually precise — 3.899 and 3.749 are real boundaries.
  • The non-resident figures are mostly a tuition discount, not cash, and Idaho states WUE is non-disbursable.
  • No extra applications or deadlines for the non-resident awards; admission alone triggers consideration.
  • Homeschooled Idaho residents are assessed on their highest ACT or SAT, and applicants from non-accredited Idaho high schools are considered on a GPA if one is provided.
  • Award letters go out in early January by post and email.
  • Idaho transfer residents have their own smaller grid: 3.8-4.0 gets $3,000, 3.6-3.799 gets $2,000, 3.0-3.599 gets $1,000.
  • The state's Idaho LAUNCH programme adds up to $8,000 (up to $4,000 a year) for Idaho graduates entering in-demand careers, separately from anything above.
  • Neither page carries a cycle year.
  • Idaho is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Idaho.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Idaho?

University of Idaho publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Idaho test-optional?

Idaho does not state an admission test stance on its scholarship pages. The only mention of a score is as a substitute measure for homeschooled applicants. For merit aid the answer is different: not used as a threshold. Every Go Idaho! and WUE Scholars band is keyed to an unweighted GPA; a score matters only for homeschooled applicants, where Idaho uses the highest ACT or SAT in place of a GPA it cannot read. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Idaho?

On Idaho's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Idaho residents — Go Idaho! — Vandal Excellence at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Idaho superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. Idaho says it uses a homeschooled applicant's HIGHEST ACT, which is a best-sitting rule rather than a superscore, and it applies to no one else.

Is this Idaho scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Idaho's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Idaho awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Idaho is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Idaho