Doane University: merit scholarships by GPA
Doane University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.9 GPA and reach $21,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
No score is used on the published ladder. Two things to read carefully: the renewal condition on every band is 'Good Standing' rather than a numeric GPA, which is unusually loose and worth confirming in writing; and Doane lists a full-tuition Academic Excellence Scholarship at a 3.5 which sits above this ladder and is not described as automatic, so it is not modelled here. The page carries no cycle year.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Board of Trustees Scholarship
$17,000 / year
About $68,000 over four years, if it renews.
Doane awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Doane merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Doane University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Freshman scholarships
Awarded on the GPA. Doane publishes 'Good Standing' as the renewal condition for every band on this ladder.
$21,000
Perry Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 4.00
$19,000
President's Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.75
$17,000
Board of Trustees Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$15,000
Van Hoy Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.00
$13,000
Doane Community Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 2.90
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Perry Scholarship | — | GPA 4.00 | $21,000 |
| President's Scholarship | — | GPA 3.75 | $19,000 |
| Board of Trustees Scholarship | — | GPA 3.50 | $17,000 |
| Van Hoy Scholarship | — | GPA 3.00 | $15,000 |
| Doane Community Scholarship | — | GPA 2.90 | $13,000 |
Source: Freshman Scholarships — annual amount by GPA · verified 2026-10-22
Does Doane superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Doane’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Doane University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The renewal condition is 'Good Standing' on every band, not a numeric GPA.
- A full-tuition Academic Excellence Scholarship exists at a 3.5 but is not described as automatic, so it is not modelled.
- The steps are an even $2,000 from the top to the Van Hoy.
- The page carries no cycle year.
- Doane is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Doane University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Doane?
Doane University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Doane test-optional?
Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every band is published against a high school GPA and no ACT threshold appears in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Doane?
On Doane's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Board of Trustees Scholarship at $17,000 a year, about $68,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Doane superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.
Is this Doane scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Doane University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Doane awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Doane is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Doane University