Chadron State College: merit scholarships by GPA
Chadron State College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $8,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Every rung is keyed to the CUMULATIVE UNWEIGHTED GPA, not the weighted GPA most high schools report — a weighted 3.8 can be an unweighted 3.4 and two rungs lower. Chadron does not publish renewal terms for these awards.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Eagle Scholars
$4,000 / year
About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.
Chadron State awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Chadron State merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Chadron State College’s own pages for Fall 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Freshman merit scholarships
No scholarship application. Chadron asks only for the admission application and a digital copy of the high school transcript.
$8,000
President Scholars
No score needed
$4,000
Eagle Scholars
No score needed
$2,000
Dean Scholars
No score needed
$1,500
Community Scholars
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| President Scholars | — | $8,000 |
| Eagle Scholars | — | $4,000 |
| Dean Scholars | — | $2,000 |
| Community Scholars | — | $1,500 |
Source: Scholarships — merit requirements from Fall 2026 · verified 2026-10-24
Does Chadron State superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not change this grid. The four merit rungs use no test score at all, so there is nothing for a superscore to improve here.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Chadron State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Chadron State scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Priority consideration — complete the application process | March 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Chadron State College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The step from Eagle Scholars to President Scholars DOUBLES the award, from $4,000 to $8,000, across a single hundredth of a GPA point at 3.75.
- The GPA is cumulative and UNWEIGHTED, which is usually lower than the figure on a transcript.
- There is no scholarship application — the admission application and a transcript are the whole process.
- Submitting a test score may open other Chadron scholarships, but it cannot move any of these four rungs.
- Chadron does not publish renewal terms for the merit grid. The only renewal language on the page belongs to its Pell-based tuition guarantee, which is a different programme.
- Nothing is paid below a 3.00 unweighted GPA.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Chadron State College.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Chadron State?
Chadron State College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Chadron State test-optional?
The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: no rung of this grid names a test score. Chadron notes separately that submitting an ACT or SAT may open other scholarship opportunities, but it cannot move any of these four awards. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Chadron State?
On Chadron State's published grid for Fall 2026 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Eagle Scholars at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Chadron State superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not change this grid. The four merit rungs use no test score at all, so there is nothing for a superscore to improve here.
When are Chadron State scholarship deadlines?
Priority consideration — complete the application process: March 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Chadron State scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Chadron State College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Chadron State awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Chadron State is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Chadron State College