Nebraska Wesleyan University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 23, 2026August 2027 entryACT not used for meritLincoln, NE

Nebraska Wesleyan University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $28,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Every admitted student gets one of these: 'Every student who is admitted to Nebraska Wesleyan receives one renewable academic scholarship.' The table's only criterion is the GPA — NWU states that students 'may be admitted and awarded scholarships at NWU without consideration of their test score'. Two things to read carefully. First, NWU publishes a fourth rung, Archway, as 'up to $20,000' for a GPA 'up to 2.99'; that is a ceiling rather than an amount, so it is deliberately left out of this grid and described in the notes. Second, the GPA is frozen at admission: 'Scholarships are based on the cumulative high school GPA provided at the time of admission and are not subject to subsequent review of transcripts submitted after admission.' These are the figures for students starting in August 2027.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Presidents Scholarship

$26,000 / year

About $104,000 over four years, if it renews.

Nebraska Wesleyan awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Nebraska Wesleyan’s fafsa for huge-nwu consideration — encouraged, not required is December 1, 2026 — 34 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Can you get merit aid at Nebraska Wesleyan without an ACT score?

Yes. Not used by the academic grid. The table's three columns are Scholarship, Annual Amount and GPA Criteria, and NWU says outright that students may be 'awarded scholarships at NWU without consideration of their test score'. A score is weighed in exactly one place — the single-winner Huge-NWU Scholarship, where 'the financial need of the applicants and standardized test scores (i.e., ACT and SAT) are other factors considered', with no weights assigned and no threshold published. One award a year decided by committee and interview is not a lookup, so no band here uses a score.

Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.

“Students may be admitted and awarded scholarships at NWU without consideration of their test score.”

The published Nebraska Wesleyan merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Nebraska Wesleyan University’s own pages for August 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

First-year academic scholarships, August 2027 entry

One award per student, automatic on admission, renewable. A fourth published rung, Archway at 'up to $20,000' for a GPA 'up to 2.99', is omitted here because 'up to' is not an amount. Additive money exists and sits outside this grid: a renewable $1,000 Campus Grant simply for touring campus (limit 1), the Wesleyan Honors Academy Scholarship at 100% of WHA tuition, an Alumni Legacy Scholarship of $1,000, the Great Plains United Methodist Scholarship at $500 to $2,000, and $1,000 each for TeamMates, College Possible and Upward Bound students. Those stack with the academic award; they are not alternatives to it.

  • $28,000

    Board of Governors Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $26,000

    Presidents Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • $24,000

    Black & Gold Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: First-Year Scholarships — annual amounts by GPA for August 2027 entry · verified 2026-10-23

Does Nebraska Wesleyan superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it is hard to see how it could matter. The word 'superscore' appears on none of NWU's admissions or financial aid pages, and no academic scholarship uses a score at all. The only place a composite is read is the Huge-NWU competition, where scores are one unweighted factor among a dozen.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Nebraska Wesleyan’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Nebraska Wesleyan scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Academic scholarships — none published; awarded on admissionRolling (no separate scholarship application)
Huge-NWU Scholarship application (the competitive full ride)11:59 p.m. Central on December 1
Huge-NWU letters of recommendation must be received11:59 p.m. Central Time on December 1
FAFSA for Huge-NWU consideration — encouraged, not requiredDecember 1, 2026
Huge-NWU finalists notified of the final decisionon or before March 20

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Nebraska Wesleyan University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The fourth published rung is not in the grid on purpose. Archway is printed as 'up to $20,000' against a GPA of 'up to 2.99' — a ceiling, not a promise, and this dataset does not convert one into the other. A student below a 3.0 should expect something and should ask NWU what; nothing here will tell them.
  • A strong final semester cannot raise the award. 'Scholarships are based on the cumulative high school GPA provided at the time of admission and are not subject to subsequent review of transcripts submitted after admission.' Several comparable privates re-read a seventh- or eighth-semester transcript and upgrade; NWU says plainly that it does not.
  • The Huge-NWU Scholarship is the one competitive full ride: tuition, fees, room and board for one winner, with a 3.75 weighted GPA floor, a December 1 application, letters of recommendation, essays and an on-campus interview. Its consolation prizes are real and additive — 'Finalists receive a $4,000 Huge-NWU Commendation Scholarship added to their base academic scholarship' and semifinalists a $1,000 Recognition Scholarship. It is also the only NWU award that weighs an ACT or SAT score.
  • Access NWU is need-based, not merit. It 'will fully fund tuition through federal, state and NWU merit-based and need-based aid (includes the Subsidized Federal Direct Loan) for eligible first-time, first-year students who qualify for the federal Pell Grant', and NWU says it 'will serve most students whose family adjusted gross incomes are at or below $65,000'. No GPA or score changes it.
  • Two NWU pages disagree about the average. The first-year scholarship page says full-time undergraduates 'receive an average of $27,000 a year in scholarships and grants––that's $100,000 over four years'; the undergraduate aid page one click away says '$30,000 a year in renewable scholarships and grants'. Neither figure is a promise to any individual student, and the gap is a reason to read the actual award letter rather than the brochure line.
  • The Nebraska Opportunity Grant is NOT NWU money and is not on this grid. It is the State of Nebraska's need-based grant, awarded off the FAFSA to Pell-eligible Nebraska residents at participating in-state institutions, with no ACT or GPA threshold. It can appear on an NWU award letter and will not be anything NWU decided to give, and no score will increase it.
  • NWU is NCAA Division III, so there are no athletic scholarships at all: 'NWU is a member of the NCAA Division III, which is unique in not awarding athletic scholarships.' For a recruited athlete, the GPA ladder above IS the offer.
  • The competitive arts awards are separate from the grid and are decided by audition: Theatre, Music Ensemble Participation, Bennett, Fosbury, Harrod and Marshall Music Scholarships, each $500 to $3,000, with 'audition dates vary' as the only deadline published.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Nebraska Wesleyan University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Nebraska Wesleyan?

Nebraska Wesleyan University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Nebraska Wesleyan test-optional?

Optional, and NWU reads the transcript instead: 'High school transcript – Your self-reported GPA is used to determine admission and scholarship eligibility. Therefore, it's important that you report accurate information.' The official transcript is required only before registering for classes, and NWU reserves the right to review eligibility against it. For merit aid the answer is different: not used by the academic grid. The table's three columns are Scholarship, Annual Amount and GPA Criteria, and NWU says outright that students may be 'awarded scholarships at NWU without consideration of their test score'. A score is weighed in exactly one place — the single-winner Huge-NWU Scholarship, where 'the financial need of the applicants and standardized test scores (i.e., ACT and SAT) are other factors considered', with no weights assigned and no threshold published. One award a year decided by committee and interview is not a lookup, so no band here uses a score. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Nebraska Wesleyan?

On Nebraska Wesleyan's published grid for August 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Presidents Scholarship at $26,000 a year, about $104,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Nebraska Wesleyan superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it is hard to see how it could matter. The word 'superscore' appears on none of NWU's admissions or financial aid pages, and no academic scholarship uses a score at all. The only place a composite is read is the Huge-NWU competition, where scores are one unweighted factor among a dozen.

When are Nebraska Wesleyan scholarship deadlines?

Academic scholarships — none published; awarded on admission: Rolling (no separate scholarship application). Huge-NWU Scholarship application (the competitive full ride): 11:59 p.m. Central on December 1. Huge-NWU letters of recommendation must be received: 11:59 p.m. Central Time on December 1. FAFSA for Huge-NWU consideration — encouraged, not required: December 1, 2026. Huge-NWU finalists notified of the final decision: on or before March 20. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Nebraska Wesleyan scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Nebraska Wesleyan University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Nebraska Wesleyan awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Nebraska Wesleyan is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Nebraska Wesleyan University