Fairmont State University: merit scholarships and what the school publishes

Verified Oct 24, 20262027-28 entryACT not used for meritFairmont, WV

Fairmont State University awards automatic merit aid from published criteria. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Fairmont publishes one line — automatic at a 3.0, up to $1,500 a year — with no tiers and no residency split, so the figure is a ceiling rather than an award. Its own 2023 announcement of this model described five GPA steps running from $500 in state to $6,000 out of state, which are no longer on the page; they suggest an in-state 3.0 should expect well under the $1,500. A FAFSA is required for every scholarship candidate.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Success Scholarship

Up to $1,500 a year, with no published tiers

Fairmont State awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Fairmont State’s scholarship competition is November 14, 2026 — 17 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Fairmont State merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Fairmont State University’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Success Scholarship

The only automatic award Fairmont publishes. Incoming freshmen are considered on the admission application alone.

  • Up to $1,500 a year, with no published tiers

    Success Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: 27-28 academic scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does Fairmont State superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter — the award reads no score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Fairmont State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Fairmont State scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Scholarship competitionNovember 14, 2026
Scholarship competitionFebruary 20, 2027

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Fairmont State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The only published condition is a 3.0 high school GPA, and the only published figure is a $1,500 ceiling.
  • Fairmont's own 2023 announcement described five GPA tiers, from $500 in state to $6,000 out of state; they are no longer on the page.
  • No score is read for this award.
  • A FAFSA is required for every scholarship candidate, including this automatic one.
  • Renewal needs only a 2.75, which is below the 3.0 that earns the award.
  • The Traditions, Dean's and Presidential awards at a 3.25 — up to $3,000, up to $6,000, and full tuition with room and board — are competitive and need a scholarship competition, so they are not bands here.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Fairmont State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Fairmont State?

Fairmont State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Fairmont State test-optional?

No current Fairmont page states the admission testing requirement; the 2023 release says only that scores "will still have a place in the admissions process". For merit aid the answer is different: the current model names no test for scholarship eligibility, and the 2023 release says scores will not be necessary to qualify under it. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does Fairmont State superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter — the award reads no score.

When are Fairmont State scholarship deadlines?

Scholarship competition: November 14, 2026. Scholarship competition: February 20, 2027. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Fairmont State scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Fairmont State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Fairmont State awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Fairmont State is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Fairmont State University