Fayetteville State University: merit scholarships by GPA
Fayetteville State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.2 GPA and reach $5,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
FSU awards these until funding is depleted, so meeting a GPA band makes a student eligible rather than entitled — applying late can mean qualifying and receiving nothing. The GPA is unweighted.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Gold Bronco
$3,000 / year
About $12,000 over four years, if it renews.
Fayetteville State awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Fayetteville State merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Fayetteville State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Bronco merit scholarships
First-time freshmen are considered when admitted. No separate scholarship application.
$5,000
Platinum Bronco
No score needed
$3,000
Gold Bronco
No score needed
$2,000
Silver Bronco
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Platinum Bronco | — | $5,000 |
| Gold Bronco | — | $3,000 |
| Silver Bronco | — | $2,000 |
Source: Admissions scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Does Fayetteville State superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid uses no test score at all.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Fayetteville State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Fayetteville State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Awards continue only until funding is depleted, so qualifying is not the same as receiving.
- The GPA is unweighted, which is usually lower than the figure on a transcript.
- No test score is used at any rung.
- Nothing is paid below a 3.20 unweighted GPA.
- FSU does not publish the renewal GPA or credit requirement alongside the awards.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Fayetteville State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Fayetteville State?
Fayetteville State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Fayetteville State test-optional?
The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: all three rungs are keyed to the unweighted high school GPA. No band names a test score, so an ACT cannot move this award. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Fayetteville State?
On Fayetteville State's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Gold Bronco at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Fayetteville State superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid uses no test score at all.
Is this Fayetteville State scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Fayetteville State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Fayetteville State awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Fayetteville State is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Fayetteville State University