Methodist University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Spring 2026 – Spring 2027 entryFayetteville, NC

Methodist University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 22 and reach $20,750 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

The GPA is cumulative WEIGHTED. Methodist says admitted students are "considered" for these awards rather than guaranteed them, and no separate application is mentioned. Its first-year page says awards start at $14,000 a year without test scores where the grid's lowest test-optional cell is $14,750 — the grid is used here. The grid is labelled for Spring 2026 through Spring 2027 entrants.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Presidential Scholarship

$17,500 per year / year

About $70,000 over four years, if it renews.

What the next points are worth

1 more point (a 30) moves you to Presidential Scholarship — $19,000 per year a year. That is $1,500 more a year, or $6,000 over four years.

The question isn't whether a point is worth having. It's whether they can move it — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.

Who's this for?
Methodist’s priority deadline, spring entry is December 15. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Can you get merit aid at Methodist without an ACT score?

Yes. Optional, and Methodist prints exactly what it costs. The test-optional row pays $17,000 at a 4.00 where a 30 pays $20,750, so not testing costs about $3,750 a year at the top GPA and roughly the same across the other two columns. A score below a 22 reaches no scored row at all.

Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.

“All admitted students will be considered for scholarships ranging from $14,000 per year up to $17,000 per year without test scores.”

The published Methodist merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Methodist University’s own pages for Spring 2026 – Spring 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Presidential Scholarship

Methodist publishes the no-score route as the bottom row of the same table, so the cost of not testing is readable directly at any GPA.

  • $20,750 per year

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 30–36 · 4.00+ weighted

    Without a score: not available

  • $19,000 per year

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 30–36 · 3.50–3.99 weighted

    Without a score: not available

  • $18,500 per year

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 30–36 · 3.00–3.49 weighted

    Without a score: not available

  • $19,250 per year

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 26–29 · 4.00+ weighted

    Without a score: not available

  • $17,500 per year

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 26–29 · 3.50–3.99 weighted

    Without a score: not available

  • $17,000 per year

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 26–29 · 3.00–3.49 weighted

    Without a score: not available

  • $17,750 per year

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 22–25 · 4.00+ weighted

    Without a score: not available

  • $16,000 per year

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 22–25 · 3.50–3.99 weighted

    Without a score: not available

  • $15,500 per year

    Presidential Scholarship

    ACT 22–25 · 3.00–3.49 weighted

    Without a score: not available

  • $17,000 per year

    Presidential Scholarship (test optional)

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $15,500 per year

    Presidential Scholarship (test optional)

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • $14,750 per year

    Presidential Scholarship (test optional)

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: Academic scholarships — the Presidential grid, including its test-optional row · verified 2026-10-24

Does Methodist superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. Methodist publishes closed score windows and never addresses superscoring, which matters here because a single point can cross a window.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Methodist’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Methodist scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Priority deadline, fall entryJuly 31
Priority deadline, spring entryDecember 15
Wright Scholars applicationMarch 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Methodist University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The no-score route is the bottom row of the published grid, which makes the cost of not testing a direct subtraction at any GPA.
  • At a 4.00 weighted, not testing costs $3,750 a year — $17,000 against the $20,750 a 30 earns.
  • The score windows are closed: 30+, 26–29 and 22–25, with nothing scored below a 22.
  • Crossing from a 25 to a 26, or a 29 to a 30, is worth $1,500 a year at the top GPA column.
  • The GPA is cumulative weighted, which is higher than an unweighted transcript number.
  • Methodist's selective awards state a floor of a 3.00 weighted GPA with a 22 ACT.
  • The Wright Scholars award — five full-tuition scholarships at a 3.70 GPA and a 24 ACT — needs an application by March 1, so it is not a band.
  • Valedictorian ($2,500 a year) and Salutatorian ($1,000 a year) add-ons exist; the page does not say whether they stack with the Presidential award.
  • The Green & Gold award of $5,500 a year requires university housing and full-time enrolment.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Methodist University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Methodist?

Automatic merit aid at Methodist University starts at an ACT composite of 22, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $20,750 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Methodist test-optional?

Methodist is test-optional for admission for freshmen whose core high school GPA and curriculum meet its standards. For merit aid the answer is different: optional, and Methodist prints exactly what it costs. The test-optional row pays $17,000 at a 4.00 where a 30 pays $20,750, so not testing costs about $3,750 a year at the top GPA and roughly the same across the other two columns. A score below a 22 reaches no scored row at all. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Methodist?

On Methodist's published grid for Spring 2026 – Spring 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Presidential Scholarship at $19,000 a year, about $76,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at Methodist?

The most valuable single point on Methodist's published grid is 25 to 26, at a 3.0 GPA: it moves the award by $1,500 a year, or $6,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does Methodist superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. Methodist publishes closed score windows and never addresses superscoring, which matters here because a single point can cross a window.

When are Methodist scholarship deadlines?

Priority deadline, fall entry: July 31. Priority deadline, spring entry: December 15. Wright Scholars application: March 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Methodist scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Methodist University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Methodist. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Methodist University