Virginia Commonwealth University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 25, 20262027-28 entryACT not used for meritRichmond, VA

Virginia Commonwealth University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $15,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

This grid is for out-of-state and international students only — Virginia residents have no published ladder, and their Provost and Deans' awards are competitive, worded "up to", and cover in-state costs only. Residency is determined at the time of admission. The award requires a fall start as a full-time first-year student, with the application and transcript received by November 1. Each GPA row is printed as a minimum and is read here as a floor; whether the GPA is weighted is not stated. VCU publishes no renewal GPA for the out-of-state award.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Out-of-State Scholarship

$12,000 / year

About $48,000 over four years, if it renews.

VCU awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
VCU’s scholarship consideration — application and official transcript received is November 1 — 4 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published VCU merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Virginia Commonwealth University’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Out-of-state and international students

Automatic with no separate application, for full-time first-year students starting in the fall. Amounts are annual.

  • $15,000

    Out-of-State Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $14,000

    Out-of-State Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $12,000

    Out-of-State Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • $11,000

    Out-of-State Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.25

  • $10,000

    Out-of-State Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: Out-of-state scholarships · verified 2026-10-25

Does VCU superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and no score is read for the published grid.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask VCU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

VCU scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Scholarship consideration — application and official transcript receivedNovember 1
Fall Regular DecisionJanuary 15

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Virginia Commonwealth University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The published ladder is for out-of-state and international students only.
  • Virginia residents have no published grid; their awards are competitive and worded "up to".
  • Five rungs, from $10,000 a year at a 3.00 to $15,000 at a 4.00.
  • The 3.50-to-3.75 step is worth $2,000 a year, twice any other step.
  • Consideration is automatic with no separate scholarship application.
  • November 1 is the scholarship deadline, six weeks before Regular Decision on January 15.
  • No score is read for the money; VCU states that applicants are considered even without one.
  • The Honors College guaranteed-admission programmes do require a score — a 3.5 with a 29.
  • Residency is determined at the time of admission.
  • Fall start and full-time enrolment are required.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Virginia Commonwealth University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at VCU?

Virginia Commonwealth University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is VCU test-optional?

Optional for admission and for scholarships alike. The exception is the Honors College guaranteed-admission programmes, which ask for a 3.5 with a 29. For merit aid the answer is different: the out-of-state grid reads the GPA alone. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at VCU?

On VCU's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Out-of-State Scholarship at $12,000 a year, about $48,000 over four years if it renews.

Does VCU superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and no score is read for the published grid.

When are VCU scholarship deadlines?

Scholarship consideration — application and official transcript received: November 1. Fall Regular Decision: January 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this VCU scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Virginia Commonwealth University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

VCU awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though VCU is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Virginia Commonwealth University