Mary Baldwin University: merit scholarships by GPA
Mary Baldwin University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards reach $21,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
No score is used, and the ladder is almost flat: $18,000 at the bottom and $21,000 at the top, so the whole range of academic achievement is worth $3,000 a year. Treat these as a tuition discount every admitted student receives rather than a merit competition. The page carries no cycle year.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Dean's Scholarship
$20,000 / year
About $80,000 over four years, if it renews.
Mary Baldwin awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Mary Baldwin merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Mary Baldwin University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Academic scholarships
Awarded on the transcript GPA, renewable while the student remains in good academic standing and meets satisfactory academic progress.
$21,000
Presidential Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.90
$20,000
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$19,000
Founders Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.00
$18,000
Baldwin Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 1.00
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | — | GPA 3.90 | $21,000 |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | GPA 3.50 | $20,000 |
| Founders Scholarship | — | GPA 3.00 | $19,000 |
| Baldwin Scholarship | — | GPA 1.00 | $18,000 |
Source: Scholarships — academic awards by transcript GPA · verified 2026-10-22
Does Mary Baldwin superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Mary Baldwin’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Mary Baldwin University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- $3,000 a year separates a sub-3.0 student from a 3.9 — the narrowest spread in this dataset.
- Every admitted student is published a figure.
- The page carries no cycle year.
- Mary Baldwin is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Mary Baldwin University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Mary Baldwin?
Mary Baldwin University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Mary Baldwin test-optional?
Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every band is published against a high school GPA and no ACT threshold appears in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Mary Baldwin?
On Mary Baldwin's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Dean's Scholarship at $20,000 a year, about $80,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Mary Baldwin superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.
Is this Mary Baldwin scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Mary Baldwin University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Mary Baldwin awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Mary Baldwin is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Mary Baldwin University