Averett University: merit scholarships by GPA
Averett University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $9,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
These awards are keyed to the FINAL high school GPA, not the GPA at application, so the figure quoted at admission can change either way once the last transcript arrives. The page does not say "per year" and does not say whether the GPA is weighted. Awards assume continuous full-time enrolment and are not available during the summer.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Provost Scholarship
$7,500 a year / year
About $30,000 over four years, if it renews.
Averett awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Averett merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Averett University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-time freshman merit
Given at admission on the final high school GPA. The bottom rung covers a full grade point, so only two boundaries on this ladder are worth money.
$9,500 a year
Presidential Scholarship
No score needed
$7,500 a year
Provost Scholarship
No score needed
$6,000 a year
Honors Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | — | $9,500 a year |
| Provost Scholarship | — | $7,500 a year |
| Honors Scholarship | — | $6,000 a year |
Source: Scholarships and grants — 2026-27 first-year merit · verified 2026-10-24
Does Averett superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. The merit ladder uses no test score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Averett’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Averett University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The GPA read is the FINAL high school GPA, so a senior spring can move the award in either direction after the offer.
- The bottom rung spans a full grade point — 2.50 to 3.49 all pay $6,000.
- Only two boundaries are worth anything: 3.49 to 3.50 is $1,500 a year, and 3.99 to 4.00 is $2,000.
- Below a 2.50 the page publishes no merit award.
- A separate Out of State Grant ($2,000) and a Danville and Pittsylvania County graduate grant ($1,500) exist; the page does not say whether they stack with merit.
- Averett advertises "Tuition Reset" pricing elsewhere, which affects how these amounts should be read against its sticker price.
- The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted or unweighted, or state that the amounts are annual.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Averett University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Averett?
Averett University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Averett test-optional?
Averett's scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: no ACT or SAT appears anywhere in Averett's merit criteria. All three rungs are keyed to the final high school GPA, so a score cannot move this award. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Averett?
On Averett's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Provost Scholarship at $7,500 a year, about $30,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Averett superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. The merit ladder uses no test score.
Is this Averett scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Averett University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Averett awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Averett is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Averett University