Bridgewater College: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 22, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritBridgewater, VA

Bridgewater College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards reach $8,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Merit is set from the cumulative WEIGHTED high school GPA at the point of the admission decision, so the award is fixed before a later transcript could change it. Bridgewater states that a submitted test score will be considered in review and will not negatively impact merit scholarship consideration — a one-way position, which means submitting cannot cost anything. The page carries no cycle year.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Provost's Scholarship

$5,000 / year

About $20,000 over four years, if it renews.

Bridgewater awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Bridgewater merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Bridgewater College’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

BC Merit Scholarships

Set from the cumulative weighted high school GPA when the admission decision is made.

  • $8,000

    BC Merit Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $7,000

    Trustee Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.74

  • $5,000

    Provost's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.22

  • $4,000

    Dean's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 1.00

Source: Scholarships — BC Merit Scholarships by weighted GPA · verified 2026-10-22

Does Bridgewater superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Bridgewater’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Bridgewater College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A submitted score cannot lower the award — Bridgewater says so explicitly.
  • The merit level is fixed when the admission decision is made.
  • The GPA is weighted, so the scale a school uses changes the band.
  • The page carries no cycle year.
  • Bridgewater is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Bridgewater College.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Bridgewater?

Bridgewater College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Bridgewater test-optional?

Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every band is published against a high school GPA and no ACT threshold appears in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Bridgewater?

On Bridgewater's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Provost's Scholarship at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Bridgewater superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.

Is this Bridgewater scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Bridgewater College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Bridgewater awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Bridgewater is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Bridgewater College