Georgia College & State University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Fall 2026 entryMilledgeville, GA

Georgia College & State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 25 and reach $20,326 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

This award is for NON-RESIDENTS only — Georgia College publishes no equivalent grid for Georgia residents, so an in-state student gets no figure from this page. The award covers the out-of-state portion of tuition, and the dollar amount is based on 2025-26 rates, so it moves with tuition. It is awarded first-come, first-served subject to availability, and GCSU says the criteria may change each year.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Distinguished Scholars Award (score route)

$20,326 per year, covering the out-of-state portion of tuition / year

About $81,304 over four years, if it renews.

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Can you get merit aid at Georgia College without an ACT score?

Yes. A 25 ACT is one of three alternative routes to the same award, alongside a 1179 SAT and a 3.64 GPA. So a score cannot increase the amount — there is only one amount — but it can be the thing that reaches it, which matters to a non-resident whose GPA falls below a 3.64.

Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.

“First-Time Freshman: 3.64 (High School GPA) / 1179 (Math + EBRW) / 25 ACT”

The published Georgia College merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Georgia College & State University’s own pages for Fall 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Non-residents

One award with three alternative routes — an ACT, an SAT or a GPA. Submitting a complete admission application within the deadline is enough to be considered.

  • $20,326 per year, covering the out-of-state portion of tuition

    Distinguished Scholars Award (score route)

    ACT 25–36 · any GPA — a 25 ACT alone qualifies

    Without a score: not available

  • $20,326 per year, covering the out-of-state portion of tuition

    Distinguished Scholars Award (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.64

Source: Out-of-state scholarships — Distinguished Scholars Award · verified 2026-10-24

Does Georgia College superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. GCSU names a single 25 ACT threshold and never addresses superscoring, so a student one point short should confirm in writing.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Georgia College’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Georgia College & State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • There is no in-state equivalent of this award. A Georgia resident gets no figure from this page.
  • A 25 ACT, a 1179 SAT and a 3.64 GPA all reach the same $20,326 — the routes are alternatives, not tiers.
  • Because there is only one amount, a higher score adds nothing once the 25 is cleared.
  • The award covers the out-of-state portion of tuition, so its value moves with the tuition rate.
  • GCSU also states the award as more than $81,000 over four years.
  • Awards are first-come, first-served and subject to availability.
  • The page is labelled Fall 2026 but quotes 2025-26 tuition rates.
  • GCSU says eligibility criteria may change each academic year.
  • The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted or unweighted, and publishes no renewal condition.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Georgia College & State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Georgia College?

Automatic merit aid at Georgia College & State University starts at an ACT composite of 25, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $20,326 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Georgia College test-optional?

GCSU states only that it accepts both the SAT and the ACT, so the admission requirement is not claimed here. For merit aid the answer is different: a 25 ACT is one of three alternative routes to the same award, alongside a 1179 SAT and a 3.64 GPA. So a score cannot increase the amount — there is only one amount — but it can be the thing that reaches it, which matters to a non-resident whose GPA falls below a 3.64. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Georgia College?

On Georgia College's published grid for Fall 2026 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Distinguished Scholars Award (score route) at $20,326 a year, about $81,304 over four years if it renews.

Does Georgia College superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. GCSU names a single 25 ACT threshold and never addresses superscoring, so a student one point short should confirm in writing.

Is this Georgia College scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Georgia College & State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Georgia College. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Georgia College & State University