Truett McConnell University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritCleveland, GA

Truett McConnell University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $9,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Every rung is keyed to an UNWEIGHTED high school GPA, which is lower than the weighted GPA most high schools report — a weighted 4.0 may not reach the top rung. The awards apply to full-time students enrolled in on-campus courses, and the page prints no entry year.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Vice Presidential Scholar

$6,500 a year / year

About $26,000 over four years, if it renews.

TMU awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published TMU merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Truett McConnell University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Academic scholarship

One award per student, keyed to unweighted high school GPA. Each threshold is a minimum, so a student receives the highest rung they clear.

  • $9,000 a year

    Presidential Scholar

    No score needed

  • $8,000 a year

    Trustee Scholar

    No score needed

  • $6,500 a year

    Vice Presidential Scholar

    No score needed

  • $5,000 a year

    Dean Scholar

    No score needed

  • $3,000 a year

    Bear Award

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships and aid — academic scholarship tiers · verified 2026-10-24

Does TMU superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter for TMU's own awards, which use no test score at all. Georgia's Zell Miller Scholarship names a 25 ACT, but that threshold is the state's.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask TMU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Truett McConnell University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The GPA is unweighted on every rung. A weighted 4.0 is not the same as the 4.0 the Presidential rung asks for.
  • Each threshold is a minimum, so the bands are floors — a 3.9 receives the Trustee award, not a lower one.
  • The Bear Award catches every admitted student below a 3.0, so the ladder has no zero.
  • TMU states that institutional scholarships are stackable with all other student financial aid, which is unusually generous wording.
  • Georgia residents may also qualify for the state's Zell Miller Scholarship at a 25 ACT or 1200 SAT. That is state aid awarded by Georgia, not TMU merit.
  • The awards apply to full-time students enrolled in on-campus courses.
  • Freshman status means fewer than 30 earned college hours after high school or home-study graduation.
  • The page prints no entry year, so a family should confirm the figures still apply.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Truett McConnell University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at TMU?

Truett McConnell University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is TMU test-optional?

The scholarships page does not state an admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: every TMU academic scholarship is keyed to unweighted high school GPA. The only test score on the page belongs to Georgia's Zell Miller Scholarship, which is state aid rather than a TMU award, so an ACT cannot move TMU's own money. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at TMU?

On TMU's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Vice Presidential Scholar at $6,500 a year, about $26,000 over four years if it renews.

Does TMU superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter for TMU's own awards, which use no test score at all. Georgia's Zell Miller Scholarship names a 25 ACT, but that threshold is the state's.

Is this TMU scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Truett McConnell University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

TMU awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though TMU is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Truett McConnell University