Georgia Southwestern State University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Georgia Southwestern State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 20 and reach $3,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Two thirds of the Gold award is an ON-CAMPUS HOUSING credit — only $1,000 of the $3,000 is academic money, so a commuter who clears the Gold threshold receives $1,000, the same as Blue. GSW calls these guaranteed but still requires its own scholarship application, and the page gives two different deadlines: May 1 in the Promise section, February 1 elsewhere. Traditional-aged freshmen only.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Promise Gold
$1,000 academic plus $2,000 on-campus housing / year
About $12,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
Can you get merit aid at GSW without an ACT score?
Yes. A score is optional for the Blue level, where it lowers the GPA needed from a 3.6 to a 3.0. It is required for Gold: GSW publishes no score-free route to the $3,000 award, so at a 3.0 GPA a 25 ACT is worth $2,000 a year — most of it as on-campus housing.
Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.
“Gold Level … $1,000 Academic $2,000 On-Campus Housing Minimum 1200 SAT or 25 ACT Composite 3.0 GPA”
The published GSW merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Georgia Southwestern State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
The Southwestern Promise
The Blue level is reachable with or without a score; the Gold level has no score-free route. Every threshold is published as a minimum.
$1,000 academic plus $2,000 on-campus housing
Promise Gold
ACT 25–36 · 3.00+
Without a score: not available
$1,000 academic
Promise Blue, score route
ACT 20–36 · 3.00+
Without a score: not available
$1,000 academic
Promise Blue, no test score
No score needed · GPA 3.60
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Promise Gold | ACT 25–36 · 3.00+ | not available | $1,000 academic plus $2,000 on-campus housing |
| Promise Blue, score route | ACT 20–36 · 3.00+ | not available | $1,000 academic |
| Promise Blue, no test score | — | GPA 3.60 | $1,000 academic |
Source: Freshman scholarships — the Southwestern Promise · verified 2026-10-24
Does GSW superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. GSW names composite minimums but never addresses superscoring, so a student planning a retake should confirm in writing.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask GSW’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
GSW scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Scholarship application (the Promise section's date) | May 1 |
| Scholarship application (the date given elsewhere on the site) | February 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Georgia Southwestern State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Freshman scholarships — the Southwestern Promiseverified 2026-10-24
- Freshman admissions — test policyverified 2026-10-24
- Below a 25, a score is worth 0.6 of a GPA point and no extra cash — both Blue routes pay $1,000.
- At a 25 with a 3.0, the award triples to $3,000 — but $2,000 of that is an on-campus housing credit.
- A commuter at the Gold threshold receives $1,000, the same as Blue, so the value of a 25 here depends on living on campus.
- SAT equivalents are 1050 for Blue and 1200 for Gold.
- Every threshold is published as a minimum, so the bands are floors.
- GSW calls the awards guaranteed but still requires its own scholarship application.
- The page gives two different application deadlines — May 1 in the Promise section and February 1 elsewhere. The earlier date is the safe one.
- Awards are for traditional-aged freshmen only.
- The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted; the admissions page refers to a required high school curriculum GPA.
- The President Carter Leadership Program ($2,000) is competitive, so it is not a band here.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Georgia Southwestern State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at GSW?
Automatic merit aid at Georgia Southwestern State University starts at an ACT composite of 20, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $3,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is GSW test-optional?
Scores are optional for admission. GSW's admission GPA minimum is 2.0 with scores and 3.6 without, so not testing raises the bar to get in. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is optional for the Blue level, where it lowers the GPA needed from a 3.6 to a 3.0. It is required for Gold: GSW publishes no score-free route to the $3,000 award, so at a 3.0 GPA a 25 ACT is worth $2,000 a year — most of it as on-campus housing. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at GSW?
On GSW's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Promise Gold at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at GSW?
The most valuable single point on GSW's published grid is 24 to 25, at a 3.0 GPA: it moves the award by $2,000 a year, or $8,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does GSW superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. GSW names composite minimums but never addresses superscoring, so a student planning a retake should confirm in writing.
When are GSW scholarship deadlines?
Scholarship application (the Promise section's date): May 1. Scholarship application (the date given elsewhere on the site): February 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this GSW scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Georgia Southwestern State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at GSW. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Georgia Southwestern State University