Georgia Southern University: merit scholarships by GPA
Georgia Southern University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.5 GPA and reach $1,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
The ACT plays no part in Georgia Southern's automatic merit at all — the grid is keyed to a core GPA that Georgia Southern recalculates itself and which will not match the transcript. Two hard limits: it is open to GEORGIA RESIDENTS ONLY, and the awards are ONE-TIME rather than annual despite a column header reading 'Annual Award Amount', so the lifetime maximum is $1,000. Fall entry only; spring entrants are ineligible. The real money at Georgia Southern is the Honors College, which interviews and publishes no figures, and the state's HOPE and Zell Miller awards.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
First-Year Merit Scholarship
$500, a one-time award spread across the first year / year
About $2,000 over four years, if it renews.
Georgia Southern awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Georgia Southern merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Georgia Southern University’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-Year Merit Scholarships — Georgia residents only
No separate application. Georgia Southern also publishes the negative band outright: below a 3.50 recalculated GPA a student is 'Not eligible for automatic merit aid'.
$1000, a one-time award spread across the first year
First-Year Merit Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 4.00
$750, a one-time award spread across the first year
First-Year Merit Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.80
$500, a one-time award spread across the first year
First-Year Merit Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.50
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| First-Year Merit Scholarship | — | GPA 4.00 | $1000, a one-time award spread across the first year |
| First-Year Merit Scholarship | — | GPA 3.80 | $750, a one-time award spread across the first year |
| First-Year Merit Scholarship | — | GPA 3.50 | $500, a one-time award spread across the first year |
Source: Scholarships — Fall 2027 Award Tiers · verified 2026-10-21
Does Georgia Southern superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot — no Georgia Southern merit award uses a score, so there is nothing for a superscore policy to govern.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Georgia Southern’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Georgia Southern scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Priority application deadline for merit | February 1st, 2027 |
| Honors College priority deadline | January 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Georgia Southern University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Scholarships — Fall 2027 Award Tiersverified 2026-10-21
- Application Deadlines & Requirementsverified 2026-10-21
- The awards are explicitly non-renewable one-time grants, so the $1,000 top band is the lifetime total from this grid rather than an annual figure.
- Georgia residents only, with in-state tuition status required. Out-of-state and international first-years have no published equivalent.
- Merit is awarded for Fall entry only — spring entrants are ineligible.
- The recalculated core GPA focuses on core academic coursework and Georgia Southern warns it may differ from the transcript GPA.
- The Honors College awards full tuition and comprehensive packages but interviews selected applicants and publishes no dollar figures, so it is not modelled.
- Georgia Southern keeps HOPE and Zell Miller entirely separate with no blended totals, and its page correctly records that the Zell Miller ACT threshold dropped from 26 to 25 effective January 1, 2024 — two other Georgia publics still publish the old 26.
- Georgia Southern notes its criteria and funding levels apply strictly to Fall 2027 and are subject to change for later cycles.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Georgia Southern University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Georgia Southern?
Georgia Southern University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Georgia Southern test-optional?
Georgia Southern is not test-optional for its Statesboro and Armstrong campuses — it publishes ACT English or Reading and Math minimums of 17 alongside a 2.5 GPA. Its University College pathway at the East Georgia and Liberty campuses requires no scores. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Georgia Southern states that merit eligibility is determined from the recalculated core GPA, and no ACT or SAT figure appears anywhere in its merit section. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Georgia Southern?
On Georgia Southern's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for First-Year Merit Scholarship at $500 a year, about $2,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Georgia Southern superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot — no Georgia Southern merit award uses a score, so there is nothing for a superscore policy to govern.
When are Georgia Southern scholarship deadlines?
Priority application deadline for merit: February 1st, 2027. Honors College priority deadline: January 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Georgia Southern scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Georgia Southern University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Georgia Southern awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Georgia Southern is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Georgia Southern University