William Jewell College: merit scholarships by ACT score
William Jewell College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 24 and reach $2,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Jewell's Academic Scholarship has two published halves that ADD TOGETHER, and the grid below is only the score half. A GPA award of $3,000 (3.25–3.49), $4,000 (3.5–3.75) or $5,000 (3.75 and above) comes first; the score award of $1,000 or $2,000 goes on top. So a 3.8 GPA with a 29 is $7,000 a year, not $2,000. Jewell never prints the combined figure, so this dataset will not either — add your GPA award to whatever the lookup returns. One more caveat from Jewell's own page: 'funds and awards may become limited due to demand and a highly qualified applicant pool', and most awards go to applicants admitted before December 1.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Test score award (ACT 28+)
$2,000 / year
About $8,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published William Jewell merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from William Jewell College’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-year test score award
The score half of Jewell's Academic Scholarship. Stacked on top of the GPA half — $3,000 at a 3.25–3.49, $4,000 at a 3.5–3.75, $5,000 at a 3.75 and above — which Jewell publishes as a separate table and which carries no score criterion.
$2,000
Test score award (ACT 28+)
ACT 28–36 · 3.25+ GPA, which is Jewell's floor for an Academic Scholarship at all — the score award is ADDED to the $3,000–$5,000 GPA award, not chosen instead of it
$1,000
Test score award (ACT 24-27)
ACT 24–27 · 3.25+ GPA, which is Jewell's floor for an Academic Scholarship at all — the score award is ADDED to the $3,000–$5,000 GPA award, not chosen instead of it
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Test score award (ACT 28+) | ACT 28–36 · 3.25+ GPA, which is Jewell's floor for an Academic Scholarship at all — the score award is ADDED to the $3,000–$5,000 GPA award, not chosen instead of it | $2,000 |
| Test score award (ACT 24-27) | ACT 24–27 · 3.25+ GPA, which is Jewell's floor for an Academic Scholarship at all — the score award is ADDED to the $3,000–$5,000 GPA award, not chosen instead of it | $1,000 |
Source: William Jewell Scholarships — First-Year Academic Scholarships and score awards · verified 2026-10-23
Does William Jewell superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. The word appears nowhere on Jewell's scholarship, admission-guide or renewability pages, and the score table is written as a single composite range ('ACT 24-27'), so whether a best-of-sittings composite reaches the 28 threshold is unanswered. Worth asking, because it is the difference between $1,000 and $2,000 a year.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask William Jewell’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
William Jewell scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Admitted to the College, for most awards ('funds and awards may become limited due to demand') | December 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from William Jewell College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- William Jewell Scholarships — First-Year Academic Scholarships and score awardsverified 2026-10-23
- William Jewell Admission Guide — test policyverified 2026-10-23
- William Jewell Institutional Scholarship Renewabilityverified 2026-10-23
- Missouri's Access Missouri Grant and Bright Flight are STATE money and are not in the grid. Bright Flight is the live confusion at Jewell, because Jewell is one of the few schools here that genuinely pays for an ACT score — so a family can easily fold the two together. They are separate: Bright Flight is paid by the Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development on a top-3%-in-Missouri composite, requires Missouri residency and a FAFSA, and arrives on top of both halves of Jewell's Academic Scholarship.
- The GPA table overlaps itself at exactly 3.75: the Trustee Scholar band is published as '3.5 – 3.75' and the Presidential Scholar as '3.75 and above', so a 3.75 appears in both. The better of the two ($5,000) is the one to assume, but it is Jewell's table, not a transcription slip.
- Jewell hedges the whole set: 'Most awards are available to applicants admitted to the College before December 1; funds and awards may become limited due to demand and a highly qualified applicant pool.' That is until-funds-are-exhausted language on an otherwise criteria-based award, and it is the reason to apply early rather than on time.
- The renewal condition is stricter than it first reads. It is not just a 2.0 GPA: students 'must complete a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester' — completed, not enrolled — and any award with a participatory mandate can still be pulled if the student stops being eligible for that program even when the 2.0 is met.
- Transfer students get a shorter and shallower ladder: two bands only ($4,000 at 3.5–3.75, $5,000 at 3.75+), a 3.3 minimum GPA, and renewal for two years rather than four. No score award is listed for transfers.
- Jewell's other scholarship families — Faith and Culture Christian Fellows, Talent, Athletic, KC Scholars, and specialized/partner awards — are on separate pages with their own criteria, and the renewability page notes they can be lost on a participation failure even if the GPA holds.
- The scale of the stack matters more than either number alone: the two halves together run $4,000 to $7,000 a year, which over four renewable years is $16,000 to $28,000 at a college Jewell describes as 'one of the most affordable private colleges in the Kansas City region'.
- Jewell is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with William Jewell College.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at William Jewell?
Automatic merit aid at William Jewell College starts at an ACT composite of 24, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $2,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is William Jewell test-optional?
Jewell has eliminated the test requirement for general admission and reviews applications holistically. It is one of the starkest splits in this dataset: the score cannot help you get in, and it is worth $1,000 to $2,000 a year once you are in. For merit aid the answer is different: optional but paid. A student with no score still receives the GPA half of the Academic Scholarship; a 24 adds $1,000 a year and a 28 adds $2,000. Over four renewable years that is $4,000 to $8,000 for a test Jewell does not require. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at William Jewell?
On William Jewell's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Test score award (ACT 28+) at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at William Jewell?
The most valuable single point on William Jewell's published grid is 27 to 28, at a 3.25 GPA: it moves the award by $1,000 a year, or $4,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does William Jewell superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. The word appears nowhere on Jewell's scholarship, admission-guide or renewability pages, and the score table is written as a single composite range ('ACT 24-27'), so whether a best-of-sittings composite reaches the 28 threshold is unanswered. Worth asking, because it is the difference between $1,000 and $2,000 a year.
When are William Jewell scholarship deadlines?
Admitted to the College, for most awards ('funds and awards may become limited due to demand'): December 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this William Jewell scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from William Jewell College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at William Jewell. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with William Jewell College