University of Minnesota Morris: merit scholarships by GPA
University of Minnesota Morris awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.25 GPA and reach $5,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
The deciding figure is an unweighted core GPA covering maths, science, social studies, world language and English only — not the overall transcript average, so a student's own GPA may not be the one Morris reads. Third-party sites publish a twelve-tier version of this award using test scores and a 3.2 floor; it does not match Morris's own page and is not carried here.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Academic Achievement Award Tier 3
$2,000 a year, $8,000 over four / year
About $8,000 over four years, if it renews.
UMN Morris awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published UMN Morris merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from University of Minnesota Morris’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Academic Achievement Award
Automatically awarded with the acceptance letter, with no additional steps. Read on the unweighted core GPA across five subjects.
$5,000 a year, $20,000 over four
Academic Achievement Award Tier 1
No score needed · GPA 3.90
$3,500 a year, $14,000 over four
Academic Achievement Award Tier 2
No score needed · GPA 3.75
$2,000 a year, $8,000 over four
Academic Achievement Award Tier 3
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$1,000 a year, $4,000 over four
Academic Achievement Award Tier 4
No score needed · GPA 3.25
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Academic Achievement Award Tier 1 | — | GPA 3.90 | $5,000 a year, $20,000 over four |
| Academic Achievement Award Tier 2 | — | GPA 3.75 | $3,500 a year, $14,000 over four |
| Academic Achievement Award Tier 3 | — | GPA 3.50 | $2,000 a year, $8,000 over four |
| Academic Achievement Award Tier 4 | — | GPA 3.25 | $1,000 a year, $4,000 over four |
Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Does UMN Morris superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and the grid reads no score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UMN Morris’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
UMN Morris scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Priority — for maximum scholarship consideration | December 15 |
| Final application | August 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from University of Minnesota Morris’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The deciding number is an unweighted core GPA across maths, science, social studies, world language and English — electives do not count.
- The 3.75-to-3.90 step is worth $1,500 a year, $6,000 across four.
- The ladder runs $1,000 at a 3.25 to $5,000 at a 3.90.
- Morris states the award is automatic with the acceptance letter.
- Applying after December 15 still gets the automatic award but closes the competitive money.
- No tier reads an ACT score.
- The renewal bar is a 2.5, below every entry tier.
- No residency restriction is printed.
- Community of Scholars awards, up to full tuition, are competitive with a December 15 deadline, so they are not bands here.
- National Merit awards depend on NMSC status rather than GPA or ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Minnesota Morris.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UMN Morris?
University of Minnesota Morris publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is UMN Morris test-optional?
The policy is stated with an end year, so an applicant for a later cycle should confirm it. For merit aid the answer is different: the grid names no test. A student with no ACT reaches the $5,000 top tier at a 3.90 core GPA exactly as a 36 would. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UMN Morris?
On UMN Morris's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Academic Achievement Award Tier 3 at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews.
Does UMN Morris superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and the grid reads no score.
When are UMN Morris scholarship deadlines?
Priority — for maximum scholarship consideration: December 15. Final application: August 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this UMN Morris scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from University of Minnesota Morris's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
UMN Morris awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though UMN Morris is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Minnesota Morris