University of Wisconsin–River Falls: merit scholarships by GPA
University of Wisconsin–River Falls awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.3 GPA and reach $3,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
The Soar Achievement Award is a ONE-TIME award, not an annual one — $2,000 at a 4.0 means $2,000 in total. The renewable Study in Wisconsin award is for non-residents only and excludes Minnesota, MSEP and Return to Wisconsin students.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Soar Achievement Award
$1,000 — a one-time award, not renewable / year
About $4,000 over four years, if it renews.
UW-River Falls awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published UW-River Falls merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from University of Wisconsin–River Falls’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Soar Achievement Award (all students, one-time)
Automatically awarded in the admissions offer. One-time rather than renewable.
$2,000 — a one-time award, not renewable
Soar Achievement Award
No score needed
$1,500 — a one-time award, not renewable
Soar Achievement Award
No score needed
$1,000 — a one-time award, not renewable
Soar Achievement Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Soar Achievement Award | — | $2,000 — a one-time award, not renewable |
| Soar Achievement Award | — | $1,500 — a one-time award, not renewable |
| Soar Achievement Award | — | $1,000 — a one-time award, not renewable |
Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Study in Wisconsin (non-residents only)
Non-residents only, and it excludes Minnesota under reciprocity, Midwest Student Exchange and Return to Wisconsin participants. Renewable for up to four years and stacks on top of Soar.
$3,000 a year, renewable for up to four years
Study in Wisconsin Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Study in Wisconsin Award | — | $3,000 a year, renewable for up to four years |
Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Does UW-River Falls superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. Neither automatic award uses a test score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UW-River Falls’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from University of Wisconsin–River Falls’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Soar is a ONE-TIME award. The $2,000 at a 4.0 is a total, not an annual figure.
- Study in Wisconsin pays $3,000 a year and is renewable, but only non-residents qualify — and Minnesota, MSEP and Return to Wisconsin students are excluded on top of that.
- Study in Wisconsin stacks with Soar, so a qualifying non-resident at a 4.0 receives $2,000 once plus $3,000 a year.
- UWRF publishes no GPA threshold for Study in Wisconsin, so it is modelled with no floor.
- The Chancellor's, Falcon Scholars, Success and Falcons Fly Higher awards all need an application and are not part of this grid. Falcon Scholars is published as an 'up to' figure.
- UWRF does not publish an entry year for these awards.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Wisconsin–River Falls.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UW-River Falls?
University of Wisconsin–River Falls publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is UW-River Falls test-optional?
The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: neither award names a test score. Soar is keyed to GPA alone and Study in Wisconsin to residency, so an ACT cannot move either. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UW-River Falls?
On UW-River Falls's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Soar Achievement Award (all students, one-time) — Soar Achievement Award at $1,000 a year, about $4,000 over four years if it renews; Study in Wisconsin (non-residents only) — Study in Wisconsin Award at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.
Does UW-River Falls superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. Neither automatic award uses a test score.
Is this UW-River Falls scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from University of Wisconsin–River Falls's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
UW-River Falls awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though UW-River Falls is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Wisconsin–River Falls