Nicholls State University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 25, 2026Current cycleCompetitive, not guaranteedThibodaux, LA

Nicholls State University publishes merit aid criteria as a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 21. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Nicholls publishes both entry routes and no amounts at all — its page says in capitals that the scholarship amounts will be posted soon. An older grid running from $2,000 to $4,500 appears in search caches and is not on the live page, so it is not carried here. The page also says a student "may qualify", and that amounts are subject to change based on university funding. The GPA is unweighted.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Academic Scholarship — 24 with a 3.0

Nicholls has not yet posted the amount for this cycle

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Is Nicholls test-optional?

For admission, largely yes. Louisiana graduates can be admitted with no score on a Core-4 curriculum and a 2.35 GPA. Out-of-state applicants need at least a 23 ACT or 1130 SAT.

For money, no. Both routes name a composite, so a student without a score reaches neither — even though Louisiana graduates can be admitted without one. Three ACT points buy half a grade point: a 24 with a 3.0 opens the same door as a 21 with a 3.5. A family that reads “test-optional” and skips the ACT can be admitted and still walk away from every dollar on the grid below.

The published Nicholls merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Nicholls State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

First-time freshman academic scholarships

Either route qualifies. Admitted with all criteria in hand by January 31 of senior year, for awards running up to four years.

  • Nicholls has not yet posted the amount for this cycle

    Academic Scholarship — 24 with a 3.0

    ACT 24–36 · 3.00+ unweighted with a 24 or better

  • Nicholls has not yet posted the amount for this cycle

    Academic Scholarship — 21 with a 3.5

    ACT 21–36 · 3.50+ unweighted with a 21 or better

Source: First-time freshman scholarships · verified 2026-10-25

Does Nicholls superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. With thresholds at 21 and 24, a student near either should ask directly.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Nicholls’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Nicholls scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Admitted with all criteria submittedJanuary 31 of senior year

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Nicholls State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Two published routes: a 21 with a 3.5, or a 24 with a 3.0.
  • Three ACT points buy half a grade point.
  • Nicholls publishes no amounts — its page says they will be posted soon.
  • An older $2,000 to $4,500 grid in search caches is not on the live page and is not used here.
  • A score is required either way, even though Louisiana graduates can be admitted without one.
  • January 31 of senior year is the deadline, with all criteria already in hand — which rules out spring test dates.
  • The GPA is unweighted on both routes.
  • Amounts are stated to be subject to change based on university funding.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Nicholls State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Nicholls?

Automatic merit aid at Nicholls State University starts at an ACT composite of 21, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches nicholls has not yet posted the amount for this cycle at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Nicholls test-optional?

Louisiana graduates can be admitted with no score on a Core-4 curriculum and a 2.35 GPA. Out-of-state applicants need at least a 23 ACT or 1130 SAT. For merit aid the answer is different: both routes name a composite, so a student without a score reaches neither — even though Louisiana graduates can be admitted without one. Three ACT points buy half a grade point: a 24 with a 3.0 opens the same door as a 21 with a 3.5. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does Nicholls superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. With thresholds at 21 and 24, a student near either should ask directly.

When are Nicholls scholarship deadlines?

Admitted with all criteria submitted: January 31 of senior year. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Nicholls scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Nicholls State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Nicholls. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Nicholls State University